You are here

Westwood Road Health Centre Good Also known as Westwood Road Surgery

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

At our previous comprehensive inspection at Westwood Road Health Centre on 16 December 2016 we found breaches of regulation relating to the safe care and treatment and good governance. The overall rating for the practice was requires improvement, specifically we found the practice to require improvement for the provision of safe, caring and well-led services. It was good for providing, effective, and responsive services. Consequently we rated all population groups as requires improvement. The previous inspection reports can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Westwood Road Health Centre on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced inspection carried out on 1 August 2017 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 16 December 2016. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and improvements made since our last inspection.

We found the practice had made the required improvements since our last inspection and was meeting the regulations that had previously been breached. We have amended the rating for this practice to reflect these changes. The practice is now rated good for the provision of safe, effective, caring, responsive and well led services. All six population groups have also been re-rated following these improvements and are also rated as good. Overall the practice is rated as good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • Infection control processes had been reviewed and improved since the last inspection.
  • Prescription form security had been improved to ensure prescriptions could be tracked and monitored if they were lost or misused.
  • Patient safety alerts were received, recorded and any action required was taken where necessary.
  • A review of risk assessments had taken place including risks related to legionella, fire and patient transportation.
  • Confidentiality at reception had been reviewed and improvements made to ensure sensitive information was not compromised.
  • Patient feedback on the national GP survey had improved significantly since the last inspection.
  • The practice had undertaken system reviews in areas where Care Quality Commission (CQC) identified problems in the last inspection and where staff and leaders had identified potential improvements to services themselves.
  • Record keeping had been reviewed and improved to assist in the day to day management of the practice.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

The practice had taken appropriate action and is now rated good for the provision of safe services.

  • Infection control processes had been reviewed and improved since the last inspection. This included staff training and risk assessments for specific areas of concern.
  • Prescription form security had been improved to ensure prescriptions could be tracked and traced if they were lost or misused.
  • Patient safety alerts were received, recorded and any action required was taken where necessary.
  • Legionella risk assessments were in place for all premises.
  • Fire drills had been undertaken at all sites.

Effective

Good

Updated 10 February 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing effective services.

  • Data from the Quality and Outcomes Framework (QOF) showed patient outcomes were at or above average compared to the national average.
  • Staff assessed needs and delivered care in line with current evidence based guidance.
  • Clinical audits demonstrated quality improvement.
  • Staff had been trained to deliver care and treatment. However, there were not records of all staff having undertaken training in line with practice guidance.
  • There was evidence of appraisals for staff.
  • Staff worked with other health care professionals to understand and meet the range and complexity of patients’ needs.

Caring

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

The practice had taken appropriate action and is now rated good for the provision of caring services.

  • Confidentiality at reception had been reviewed and improvements made to ensure sensitive information was not compromised.
  • Patient feedback on the national GP survey had improved significantly since 2016, reflected in the publication of the 2017 GP patient survey.
  • Means of identifying and supporting carers had improved.

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 February 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing responsive services.

  • Practice staff reviewed the needs of its local population and engaged with the NHS England Area Team and Clinical Commissioning Group to secure improvements to services where these were identified. For example, the practice worked jointly with other local practices to provide a service where patients could access pre-bookable appointments every Saturday morning.

  • Most patients said that appointments were available when needed, with urgent appointments available the same day.

  • The practice had good facilities and was well equipped to treat patients and meet their needs.

  • Information about how to complain was available and easy to understand and evidence showed the practice responded quickly to issues raised. Learning from complaints was shared with staff and other stakeholders.

Well-led

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

The practice had taken appropriate action and is now rated good for the provision of well-led services.

  • The practice had undertaken system reviews in areas where CQC identified problems in the last inspection and where staff and leaders had identified potential improvements to services themselves.
  • There was an improved system for identifying risks and acting on them to reduce or mitigate risks to patients.
  • Record keeping had been reviewed and improved to assist in the day to day management of the practice.
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for provision of safe, caring and well led services identified at our inspection in December 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. This population group rating has been updated to reflect this.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for provision of safe, caring and well led services identified at our inspection in December 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. This population group rating has been updated to reflect this.

Older people

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for provision of safe, caring and well led services identified at our inspection in December 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. This population group rating has been updated to reflect this.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for provision of safe, caring and well led services identified at our inspection in December 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. This population group rating has been updated to reflect this.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for provision of safe, caring and well led services identified at our inspection in December 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. This population group rating has been updated to reflect this.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for provision of safe, caring and well led services identified at our inspection in December 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. This population group rating has been updated to reflect this.