You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 1 July 2014
Date of Publication: 1 August 2014
Inspection Report published 01 August 2014 PDF

Overview

Inspection carried out on 1 July 2014

During an inspection in response to concerns

We carried out an out of hour's inspection due to concerns received by CQC regarding staffing levels during the night and the management of medicines. The concerns were raised with CQC on the 30th June 2014.

We arrived at the home at 11.15pm on 1st July 2014 and left at 2.00am on 2nd July 2014. We re-visited the home at 1.00pm on 2nd July 2014.

We looked at the information provided to us and looked at the information we held about the service. As part of our inspection we spoke with four night staff including the registered manager who arrived at the home at 12.54 am.

The focus of this inspection was to check that the provider had sufficient numbers of staff on duty during the night to meet the needs of people who used the service.

On the 2nd July 2014 at 100.pm, we re-visited the home to check that people who used the service received prescribed medicines safely. This included making sure all medicines were up to date and reviewed as people's needs and conditions changed. To make sure that clear procedures were followed in practice, monitored and reviewed. We also checked the safe storage, preparation, administration and disposal of medicines.

We spoke with a number of people using the service. Everyone commented positively about the care provided. Comments included �The staff here have an awful lot of dedication; they look after me very well". "Nothing is too much trouble for them, when I need assistance I never have to wait very long,� �The staff are very good and I always get my medicines on time and always at the same time every day". They put me at my ease� and �This is a good place to live". They look after my tablets very well. During the night I feel safe and I get lots of support each morning to get dressed. I am never rushed". It�s really nice and the staff are always there when you need them".