You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 August 2019

About the service

Broadoak Manor Care Home is a care home providing personal and nursing care to 110 people aged 65 and over at the time of the inspection. The service can support up to 120 people.

The care home accommodates people across four separate houses, each of which has separate adapted facilities all on ground floor level. Three of the houses support people with personal care and nursing needs.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

Systems in place to monitor the quality of people's care records were not always effective as they did not always identify or address areas of improvement needed. We have made a recommendation in the Well-led section of this report.

People’s needs were planned for and regularly reviewed. Improvements had been made to the prevention and monitoring of people pressure ulcers and wounds. Activities were planned and available for people to join in with. A complaints procedure was in place and accessible to all.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection and update

The last rating for this service was good (published 8 December 2018). The Responsive outcome area was rated as requires improvement as we identified a breach of Regulation 17 (Good Governance) of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014.

The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve.

At this inspection improvements had been made however, we have made a recommendation in relation to the monitoring of people’s care records.

Why we inspected

We carried out an unannounced focused inspection of this service on 11 June 2019. A breach/ breaches of legal requirements was/ were found. The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve We undertook this focused inspection to check they had followed their action plan and to confirm they now met legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to the Key Questions Responsive and Well-led which contain those requirements.

The overall rating for the service remains good. This is based on the findings at this inspection.

We have found evidence that the provider needs to make improvement. Please see the Well-led section of this report.

The ratings from the previous comprehensive inspection for those Key Questions not looked at on this occasion were used in calculating the overall rating at this inspection. The overall rating for the service remains Good. This is based on the findings at this inspection.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Broadoak Manor Care Home on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Follow up

We will continue to monitor information we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 6 December 2018

The service was safe.

People felt safe living at the service.

Risks to people were considered and formed part of people care plans.

Systems were in place for the safe management of medicines.

Safe recruitment procedures were maintained.

Effective

Good

Updated 6 December 2018

The service was effective.

People’s rights were maintained under the Mental Capacity Act.

People had access to health care professionals.

People’s dietary requirements were met.

Areas of people’s living environment promoted wayfinding and orientation for people living with dementia.

Caring

Good

Updated 6 December 2018

The service was caring.

Improvements could be made to people’s dining experience.

People had freedom of movement around the service.

People felt that staff were caring towards them

Staff understood the needs of the people they supported.

People’s personal information was kept safe.

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 August 2019

The service was responsive.

Details are in our responsive findings below.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 22 August 2019

The service was not always well-led.

Details are in our well-led findings below.