You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 17 August 2018

This was an unannounced inspection which took place on 14 and 21 June 2018.

Regency Care Centre is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Regency Care Centre is registered to accommodate up to 60 people. There were three separate units, each of which have separate adapted facilities. One of the units specialises in providing care to people living with dementia.

The service was last inspected in April 2016 when we found it was meeting all but one of the required regulations. Although the service was rated as good overall, it was rated as requires improvement in safe, as we identified a breach of the regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. This was in relation to the staffing levels at the home. We found at this inspection improvements had been made to staffing levels at the home.

At our last inspection we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

There was no registered manager in place at Regency Care Centre. However, we were aware that the manager had applied to register with us and a fit person’s interview had been arranged. We were made aware that following the inspection the manager had been successful in registering with us.

A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The manager was present during the inspection.

The service had sufficient staffing levels in place to provide support people required. We saw staff members could undertake tasks supporting people without feeling rushed. People who lived at the home told us staff were responsive to their needs.

We found the service had systems in place to record safeguarding concerns, accidents and incidents and take necessary action as required. Staff had received safeguarding training and understood their responsibilities to report unsafe care or abusive practices.

We found staff had been recruited safely, appropriately trained and supported. They had the skills, knowledge and experience required to support people with their care and social needs.

Risk assessments had been developed to minimise the potential risk of harm to people during the delivery of their care. These had been kept under review and were relevant to the care provided.

We looked around the building and found it had been maintained, was clean and hygienic and a safe place for people to live. We found equipment had been serviced and maintained as required.

Staff wore protective clothing such as gloves and aprons when needed. This reduced the risk of cross infection.

We found medication procedures at the home were safe. Staff responsible for the administration of medicines had received training to ensure they had the competency and skills required. Medicines were safely kept with appropriate arrangements for storing in place.

Staff spoken with and records seen confirmed training had been provided to enable them to support people who lived at the home. We found staff were knowledgeable about support needs of people in their care.

People are supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff support them in the least restrictive way possible. The manager understood the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 17 August 2018

The service had improved to good.

Improvements had been made to staffing levels at the home.

Effective

Good

Updated 17 August 2018

The service remains good

Caring

Good

Updated 17 August 2018

The service remains good

Responsive

Good

Updated 17 August 2018

The service remains good

Well-led

Good

Updated 17 August 2018

The service remains good