You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 26 February 2019

Amber Court is registered as a care home with nursing and provides accommodation for people who require nursing or personal care. The home is in a residential area of Blackpool. It can accommodate a maximum of 33 people. Accommodation is over two floors with bedrooms and communal facilities on both floors with lift access. There is a car park at the front of the home.

At our last inspection in May 2016, we rated the service overall good. However safe was rated as required improvement. This was in relation to staffing. People who lived in the home, relatives and staff told us there were times when staffing was too low and staff were rushing about. We also observed this on that inspection. We made a recommendation about regularly reviewing staffing rotas to ensure safe and sufficient deployment of staff.

During this inspection visit on 10 January 2019 we found staffing was sufficient to meet the needs of people supported. We found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

At the time of the inspection 33 people lived at the home.

The inspection visit took place on 10 January 2019 and was unannounced.

There had been a change of registered manager since the last inspection. The new manager had been the registered manager for the home since July 2018. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People told us they felt safe and cared for by staff. There were procedures in place to protect people from abuse and unsafe care and staff were aware of their responsibilities in keeping people safe. Risk assessments had been developed to minimise the potential risk of harm to people. Any safeguarding concerns, accidents and incidents were dealt with appropriately.

Medicines were managed safely. People received their medicines when needed and appropriate records had been completed.

Staff had been recruited safely, appropriately trained and supported. They had skills, knowledge and experience required to support people with their care and social needs. Most people said there were sufficient staffing levels in place. One person said, “I only have to shout and they are here quickly.”

We saw and people told us staff provided care in a way that respected peoples’ dignity, privacy and independence. People told us they enjoyed a variety of social and leisure activities and staff were welcoming to their families and friends. People said this assisted their well-being.

We saw people had access to healthcare professionals. People told us staff cared for them in the way they wanted and met their care needs promptly. They referred them to healthcare professionals in a timely way.

People’s care and support had been planned with them and was person centred and informative. We saw they had consented to their care and treatment wherever possible. People had been supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and were supported in the least restrictive way possible. The policies and systems in the service supported this practice. People had information about support from an external advocate should this be required.

Most people told us they enjoyed the food provided and had choice and variety. People received sufficient food and drink and the assistance they needed. The kitchen was clean, organised and stocked with a variety of provisions and staff were trained in food safety.

We looked around the building and found it was clean and hygienic, had been maintained an

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 26 February 2019

The service improved to Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 26 February 2019

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 26 February 2019

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 26 February 2019

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 26 February 2019

The service remains Good.