You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 27 April 2018

This inspection took place on the 13, 14 and 15 February 2018. The first day was unannounced.

Birch Hall Care Centre provides accommodation and both nursing and personal care for up to 84 people. The home is divided into different areas to care for people with nursing and personal care needs. There are two further 'units' which cater for older people with dementia and younger adults. People can be admitted for long or short term. There are communal areas and private bedrooms on each unit. The home is situated in Darwen within the Lancashire area. There were 75 people being supported during our inspection.

Birch Hall Care Centre is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. Care Quality Commission (CQC) regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

The service was managed by a registered manager who had been registered with CQC since 29 January 2016. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons.' Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection of 3 November 2015 we found a breach of Regulation 15 (1) (E) of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 in respect of maintaining the environment and we made a recommendation in respects of a dependency tool to determine staffing levels. The overall rating for the service was Good, with Safe being rated as requires improvement.

Following the last inspection, we asked the provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do to improve the service and by when. We checked the action plan had been actioned during this inspection and found significant improvements had been made and have rated this service as Good overall.

People who used the service told us staff were extremely kind, caring and respectful towards them. We found evidence that staff had gone above and beyond what would usually be expected from care staff to help people who used the service achieve their goals and aspirations. During the inspection we observed staff members interacted with people in a very person centred way and were extremely caring.

Whilst looking at compliments and feedback the service had received, we noted that a member of the public had written in to state how impressed they were with a young male member of staff that had taken people into a pub they were in.

We noted there was a strong emphasis in the service on promoting people’s independence. All the people we spoke with told us they were encouraged to remain as independent as possible. There was an abundance of equipment available which supported and promoted people’s independence.

Staff members we spoke with fully understood the importance of acknowledging people’s diversity, treating people equally and ensure that they promoted people’s rights. We saw people’s ethnicity and sexual orientation was discussed and recorded in their care plans.

We found overwhelming evidence that staff members went above and beyond their role to ensure that all the people who used the service were engaged and involved in activities and interests to keep them stimulated.

New furniture and soft furnishings had been purchased throughout the service. There had been a programme of re-decoration which people who used the service were able to tell us about. This had made a positive impact on the atmosphere of the service, which felt comfortable and relaxing.

People who used the service, relatives and staff members all told us that staffing levels were adequate within the service. The registered manager informed us they had recruited new staff members and staffing had been increased on nights, on days on the residential unit and on

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 27 April 2018

The service had improved from the last inspection and was safe.

New furniture such as chairs, sofa’s and tables had been purchased throughout the service. We saw new curtains and blinds had also been fitted and re-decoration had occurred in numerous locations.

Staff members we spoke with knew their responsibilities in relation to safeguarding people. Safeguarding policies and procedures were in place to guide staff.

Robust recruitment processes were in place. There were sufficient staff on duty to meet the needs of people who used the service.

Effective

Good

Updated 27 April 2018

The service was effective.

All the people we spoke with felt that staff members had the appropriate skills and knowledge to care for them. Records we looked at showed that staff completed and induction when commencing employment.

Staff members received regular supervisions and appraisals and told us they felt supported in their role.

People were supported to eat and drink enough to maintain a balanced diet. People were given plenty of choices of food at mealtimes.

Caring

Good

Updated 27 April 2018

The service had improved from the last inspection. The service was very caring.

People who used the service told us staff were kind and caring. We saw that staff had gone above and beyond what might be expected from care staff to help people to achieve their goals and aspirations.

Staff demonstrated a commitment to providing high quality, compassionate care and support. We saw a significant amount of equipment in place to support people to be as independent as possible.

The service was committed to ensuring those people who could not verbally communicate had all their needs met.

Responsive

Outstanding

Updated 27 April 2018

The service had improved from the last inspection. The service was very responsive.

People who used the service had overwhelming access to activities, interests and opportunities for social interaction. Staff went above and beyond their role to ensure people were stimulated and engaged.

The care plans were very person centred, clear and easy to follow; this meant staff would be able to confidently follow them to meet people’s needs very effectively.

People were very clear that they were able to make their own decisions and that they would be respected by staff members.

Well-led

Good

Updated 27 April 2018

The service had improved from the last inspection. They were well led.

The registered manager demonstrated a clear drive for continuous improvement in the service. People who used the service, relatives, other professionals and staff members all spoke highly of the registered manager.

Staff enjoyed working at Birch Hall Care Centre. They told us service was well run and they found the registered manager to be very supportive and approachable.

Robust systems were in place to monitor the quality and safety of the service. Strong partnerships with other organisations helped to ensure people had access to specialist equipment. The outcome of having these partnerships was an improvement in the quality of support people received.