You are here

Rydal Care Home Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 25 May 2021

About the service

Rydal Care Home is a nursing care home registered to provide accommodation for up to 60 people. The home has three floors and can specialise in providing care to people living with a dementia. At the time of this inspection 31 people were living at the service.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

Since August 2020 two successive managers had been appointed. The current manager was appointed to the post at the beginning of 2021 and they have applied to become the registered manager. The feedback we received was very complimentary about the new manager. People felt the manager had made improvements. They were confident the improvements would continue to be made.

We found the audit and analysis documents had been enhanced following our January 2021 inspection. An electronic governance system had been introduced, which was used by Rydal Care Home staff and the provider’s board of directors to maintain oversight of the services. These systems were being embedded and reviewed to ensure they were robust and supported staff to meet all requirements.

Staff recruitment procedures had been strengthened to ensure staff were employed safely. We discussed with the quality and compliance director and the manager where refinements could be made to audit systems for recruitment to ensure all necessary information was in place.

The management team had sustained the improvements made to staffing levels and there were enough staff on duty to keep people safe. The reliance on agency staff had significantly reduced. At times staff gave little notice they were not fit for work but the provider had arrangements to cover this situation. The manager confirmed they reminded staff of the need to give notice they would be absent in a timely manner.

People and relatives felt the home was safe. They commented on how staff were able to provide kind and compassionate care. Some relatives felt communication around visiting procedures could be enhanced.

Care staff adhered to Covid-19 guidance on working in a care setting. There was enough personal protective equipment (PPE) such as aprons, gloves and masks. Staff had undertaken training in putting on and taking off PPE. Visitors were screened before entering the building.

The manager closely analysed information about accidents and incidents to determine if all reasonable steps were being taken to minimise the risk of falls and people sustaining injuries. They could outline how changes to practice had reduced the number of falls people experienced.

The provider had introduced an electronic medicine administration system, which they found effective and efficient means for supporting staff administering medication. The manager had introduced an innovative system to assist agency nurses readily identify people via the use of the use of photo and room number.

The home had undergone a major refurbishment programme, which had enhanced the environment, and further work was planned.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection

The last rating for this service was inadequate (published 22 February 2021).

This service has been in Special Measures since September 2020. During this inspection the provider demonstrated that improvements have been made. The service is no longer rated as inadequate overall or in any of the key questions. Therefore, this service is no longer in Special Measures.

Why we inspected

We carried out an unannounced focused inspection of this service on in August 2020. Breaches of legal requirements were found. The provider completed an action plan after the inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve person-centred care, safe care and treatment, safeguarding service users from abuse and improper care, the premises and equipment, staffing and recruitment practices.

We undertook this focused inspection to check the provider had followed their action

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 25 May 2021

The service was not always safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 25 May 2021

Caring

Good

Updated 25 May 2021

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 May 2021

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 25 May 2021

The service was not always well-led.

Details are in our well-led findings below.