You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 20 February 2019

About the service: Rydal Care Home is a nursing care home registered to provide accommodation for up to 60 people. The home is split into three units. Two of the units specialise in providing care to people living with dementia and the third was not in use. At the time of this inspection 40 people were living at the service.

People’s experience of using this service: Improvements had been made to the service following our first inspection in December 2017 and the focused inspection we completed in September 2018. The provider and registered manager had improved the systems for assessing the performance of the service.

Staffing levels met people’s assessed needs however, the provider was reviewing the current dependency tool, as it was not fit for purpose. Staff had received a wide range of training including around working with people who may display behaviours that challenge. Checks were made on the ongoing competency of staff.

The cook and staff had received ‘focus on under-nutrition’ training. Staff were encouraging people who were under-weight to eat fortified foods. We found a range of menu choices were available and consideration had been given to ensuring people from different cultures received acceptable meals.

People participated in a range of activities that met their individual choices and preferences. Staff provided the structured support people required. This promoted a good quality of life. However, we noted that more could be offered to support people from different cultural backgrounds.

Staff effectively investigated and reported any safeguarding matters. The registered manager had acted on concerns, and complaints received by the service and had taken steps to resolve these matters. They ensured that all incidents were critically analysed and from this review lessons were learnt and embedded into practice.

All the people we spoke with told us that the registered manager and staff listened to their views, acted to resolve concerns, when needed, and met people’s needs. We found that staff needed to consistently record capacity assessments and ‘best interests’ decisions.

Works were underway to create a more dementia friendly environment. An enclosed garden area had been created, which would provide sensory stimulation and meaningful occupation for people.

Rating at last inspection: Requires Improvement (report published 17 October 2018).

Why we inspected: This was a planned inspection based on the rating at the last inspection. The service had improved and was rated Good overall.

Follow up: We will continue to monitor intelligence we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If any concerning information is received we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 20 February 2019

The service was safe.

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 20 February 2019

The service was effective.

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 20 February 2019

The service was caring.

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 20 February 2019

The service was responsive.

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 20 February 2019

The service was well-led.

Details are in our Well-led findings below.