You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The Kingfisher Care Home is registered to provide personal care for up to 20 people. Accommodation is on two floors with a stair lift for access between the floors. There are two lounges and a large dining room and a large garden for people to enjoy. The home is situated close to shops, buses and trams, the beach and the local facilities of Thornton Cleveleys.

At the last inspection in May 2015 the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

This was an unannounced inspection visit carried out on the 12 July 2017.

Although a number of people had limited verbal communication and were unable to converse with us, people we did speak with told us they were safe and secure at the home. A relative said, “The way they look after people is fantastic. I feel secure and relaxed knowing [relative] is safe.”

We found the service had systems in place to record safeguarding concerns, accidents and incidents and take necessary action as required. Staff had received safeguarding training and understood their responsibilities to report unsafe care or abusive practices.

We looked around the building and found it had been maintained, was clean and hygienic and a safe place for people to live. We found equipment had been serviced and maintained as required.

The management team had systems to protect people from unsafe management of their medicines. Recordkeeping was completed correctly and we found staff responsible for medicines were trained and competency tested.

Care records of two people we looked at were informative and reviewed on a regular basis. Staff told us care records were up to date and were important to ensure people received the right care and attention.

Staffing levels were sufficient to provide support people required. We confirmed this by talking with staff and people who lived at the home and by our observations on the day of the inspection visit. One staff member said, “The manager will get extra staff in straight away if the needs of residents change.”

We found staff had been recruited safely, appropriately trained and supported. They had skills, knowledge and experience required to support people who lived with dementia and care for their social and personal care needs. Staff spoken with told us they were well trained and always offered opportunities to develop their skills through training courses and professional qualifications.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff support them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

At lunchtime we found people had a variety and choice of meals. People who lived at the home told us if they did not like what was on the menu then they could choose something else. Comments were positive about the quality of food and meals provided. One person who lived at the home said, “The food is cooked fresh you can’t ask for more than that. It is also very good.”

People had access to healthcare professionals and their healthcare needs were met.

People who lived at the home had access to advocacy services. This ensured their interests were represented by professionals outside of the service to act on their behalf if needed.

Staff knew people they supported and provided a personalised, individual service in a supportive and professional manner. Care plans of people who lived at Kingfisher were easy to follow and had identified the care and support people required. We found they were informative about care people had received.

The provider had a complaints procedure which was made available for people and a copy was found on the notice board at the home. People we spoke with told us they had no complaints.

The management team used a variety of methods to assess and monitor the quality of the service. These included regular audits, team meetings of staff and ‘residents’, also relative surveys were obtained to seek their views about the servi

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service remains Good.