You are here

Arundel Lodge Dental Surgery Ltd

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 3 May 2017

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection of this service on 29 February 2016 as part of our regulatory functions where a breach of legal requirements was found.

After the comprehensive inspection the practice wrote to us with an action plan to say what they would do to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breach.

We revisited Arundel Lodge Dental Surgery Ltd for a follow-up inspection on 8 February 2017 to check that they had followed their plan and to confirm that they now met the legal requirements.

We reviewed the practice against one of the five questions we ask about services: is the service well-led? This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Arundel Lodge Dental Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 13 July 2016

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had arrangements in place to deal with medical emergencies at the practice and staff received annual training in using the emergency equipment. There were effective systems in place to reduce the risk and spread of infection within the practice. We found that the equipment used at the practice was regularly serviced and well maintained. There were suitable arrangements in place to ensure the safety of the X-ray equipment.

However we found areas where improvements must be made by the provider with regards to having proper arrangements in place to meet the Control of Substances Hazardous to Health 2002 (COSHH) regulations and reporting and learning from incidents and accidents within the practice.

Effective

No action required

Updated 13 July 2016

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice provided evidence-based care in accordance with relevant published guidance. The practice monitored patients oral health and gave appropriate health promotion advice. Staff explained treatment options to ensure that patients could make informed decisions about any treatment. The practice worked well with other providers and followed up on the outcomes of referrals made to other providers.

However we found areas where improvements should be made and the provider should record the training and development staff have received to ensure they are suitably trained and competent to fulfil their role.

Caring

No action required

Updated 13 July 2016

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We received positive feedback from patients through 21 CQC comment cards. Patients reported they felt the staff were kind, caring and supportive. We observed staff were welcoming and helpful when patients arrived at the reception desk for their appointment.

We found that dental care records were stored securely and patient confidentiality was well maintained.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 13 July 2016

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had a system in place to schedule enough time to assess and meet patient’s needs. Patients could access routine treatment and urgent or emergency care when required. The practice offered dedicated emergency appointments each day enabling effective and efficient treatment of patients with dental pain. There was a system in place to acknowledge, investigate and respond to complaints made by patients. However we found areas where improvements should be made relating to access for patients with limited mobility using a wheelchair.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 3 May 2017

At our previous inspection we found the practice did not always have effective systems and governance arrangements in place to ensure and improve quality of service provision. The practice had no programme in place for clinical audits.

At our inspection of 8 February 2017 we noted that action had been taken to ensure that governance arrangements had been improved.

We found that this practice was now providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.