You are here

This service was previously managed by a different provider - see old profile

We are carrying out a review of quality at HMP Bristol. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 3 September 2018

This inspection was an announced focused inspection on 26-27 June 2018, under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008. The purpose of the inspection was to follow up on Requirement Notices that we issued following a joint inspection with Her Majesty’s Inspectorate of Prisons (HMIP) in March 2017, and to check that the provider was meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Act.

This report covers our findings in relation to those aspects detailed in the Requirement Notice dated 25 July 2017 in the joint HMIP/CQC report, in respect of Regulation 9 Person Centred Care.

Our inspection team

This inspection was completed by two CQC health and justice inspectors.

During the focused inspection, we reviewed the action plan submitted by Bristol Community Health CIC which demonstrated how they had worked to achieve meeting compliance with the requirements. We spoke with staff and looked at a range of documents and records relating to clinical practice and governance.

Background

HMP Bristol is a category B local prison holding male prisoners. The prison is a mixture of Victorian and later 20th-century buildings, situated in a residential area of the city.

Bristol Community Health CIC provides a range of primary healthcare services to prisoners at HMP Bristol, comparable to those found in the wider community. The location is registered to provide the regulated activities: Treatment of disease, disorder or injury, Personal care, and Diagnostic and screening procedures.

CQC inspected this location with HMIP between 13 and 16 March 2017. We found evidence that fundamental standards were not being met and issued a Requirement Notice in relation to Regulation 9, Person centred care, of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014.

The joint report published following the March 2017 inspection can be found by accessing the following website:

https://www.justiceinspectorates.gov.uk/hmiprisons/wp-content/uploads/sites/4/2017/07/Bristol-Web-2017-2.pdf

We subsequently asked Bristol Community Health CIC to make improvements regarding this breach. We checked these areas during this focused inspection and found that the provider had addressed the previous regulatory breach identified.

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 3 September 2018

Effective

Updated 3 September 2018

Caring

Updated 3 September 2018

Responsive

Updated 3 September 2018

Well-led

Updated 3 September 2018