You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Age UK Bournemouth. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 20 October 2016

The inspection took place on 5 and 6 September 2016. We told the service two days before our visit that we would be coming to ensure the people we needed to talk to would be available. The service was last inspected in March 2014 and was found to be compliant in all areas inspected.

Age UK Bournemouth is based in Winton and is registered to provide a foot care service to people in their own homes. At the time of our inspection they were providing foot care to up to 700 people in their own homes around the Bournemouth and Poole area.

The service is required by law to have a registered manager, and there was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Everyone we spoke with expressed positive views about the service they received from Age UK Bournemouth. people were provided with foot care by a consistent team of staff who knew them and understood their care needs well. people were kept informed of any changes to their timetable or if staff were running late.

Staff received training which was refreshed at regular intervals, to ensure they had the skills and knowledge they required to be able to provide safe foot care. The manager was implementing an on-going schedule of staff supervision and appraisals to ensure staff performance was monitored regularly. Staff were supported with support and guidance to carry out their role effectively.

Quality assurance systems were in place to monitor and where necessary improve the quality of service being delivered. The service had systems in place which promoted good practice in care delivery.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 20 October 2016

The service was safe.

People were protected from harm because risks were identified and managed appropriately.

There were robust recruitment systems in place and sufficient staff with the right skills and knowledge to meet people's needs.

There were effective infection control procedures in place.

Effective

Good

Updated 20 October 2016

The service was effective.

People were supported by staff who were themselves supported through regular training and supervision.

People were supported to access the services of healthcare professionals as appropriate.

People's rights were protected because staff followed the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Caring

Good

Updated 20 October 2016

The service was caring.

People found staff supportive, kind and respectful.

People were kept informed about any changes to their service.

Responsive

Good

Updated 20 October 2016

The service was responsive.

People received the care they needed at a time that suited them.

The service had a clear complaints procedure and people told us they would feel able to raise any concerns and felt they would be listened to and any concerns raised acted upon.

Well-led

Good

Updated 20 October 2016

The service was well led.

There were systems in place to monitor, and where necessary to improve the quality of service provided.

There was a positive, open, supportive culture where people and staff were confident to report any concerns to the management team.