You are here

Archived: Kare Plus Portsmouth Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 15 January 2020

About the service: Kare Plus Portsmouth is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own homes. It provides a service to older and younger adults who may be living with a disability or sensory impairment. At the time of inspection, the service was delivering personal care to 48 people living in their own homes.

People’s experience of using this service:

Insufficient improvement had been made since our last inspection. Medicines management remained unsafe. People's medication records did not always reflect that they were administered safely. It was not always clear that people received their medications as prescribed. Risk assessments continued to lack enough information to provide direction for staff, or information about how to reduce risks.

The registered manager had conducted some quality assurance audits to monitor the running of the service. However, these were not always effective, records did not always reflect these were used to monitor, assess and improve the quality of the service being delivered.

Despite this people’s relatives told us they felt their family member was safe. There were some systems in place to protect people from the risk of abuse and potential harm. Staff were aware of their responsibility to report any concerns they had about people's safety and welfare.

People’s relatives and staff knew the registered manager and felt able to speak to them if they had any concerns. The registered manager demonstrated a willingness to make improvements and had recently employed a staff member who would be responsible for carrying out monthly audits.

Rating at last inspection: The service was rated Requires Improvement at their last inspection. (Report published 7 November 2018)

Why we inspected: At our last inspection we found Kare Plus Portsmouth was in breach of Regulation 12 and 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 because they had not ensured the safe management of medicines, risks for people had not been assessed and plans implemented to reduce these and governance was poor meaning issues of concern were not being identified. We served a warning notice to the provider requiring them to be compliant with Regulation 12 by the 25 January 2019 and issued a requirement notice for regulation 17. We carried out this focussed inspection to check whether Kare Plus had acted to meet the warning and requirement notices issued at the inspection in November 2018.

Enforcement: Full information about CQC’s regulatory response to the more serious concerns found in inspections and appeals is added to reports after any representations and appeals have been concluded.

Follow up: We identified two breaches of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 and because this is the second consecutive time the service has been rated as requires improvement we will request a clear action plan from the registered person on how they intend to achieve good by our next inspection. We may decide to meet with the provider following receipt of this plan. We will continue to monitor all information received about the service to understand any risks that may arise and to ensure the next inspection is scheduled accordingly.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 15 January 2020

The service was not always safe

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service was effective.

People's needs were assessed for staff to support them effectively.

Staff enabled people to access health care services when needed.

People were supported with their food and hydration where needed.

Staff sought people's consent prior to supporting them.

Caring

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service was caring.

People spoke positively about the staff who supported them and described them as caring.

People were treated with dignity and respect and were supported to maintain their independence.

Staff enabled people to express their views and to make decisions about their support.

People's confidential information was stored securely.

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service was responsive.

People's care needs were assessed and any changes to care needs were reviewed on a regular basis.

People were supported by staff who were aware of their preferences and how they wished to be supported.

People and their representatives were able to raise any concerns or complaints if they needed to.

Systems, policies and procedures were in place should any person need end of life care.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 15 January 2020

The service was not always well-led

Details are in our Well-Led findings below.