You are here

B R Davies - Mobile Dentist Also known as Mr Barry Russell Davies

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 26 October 2017

We carried out a follow- up inspection at B R Davies - Mobile Dentist on the 17 October 2017.

We had undertaken an announced comprehensive inspection of this service on the 11 August 2017 as part of our regulatory functions where breaches of legal requirements were found.

After the comprehensive inspection, the practice manager wrote to us to say what they would do to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breach. This report only covers our findings in relation to that requirement.

We reviewed the practice against two of the five questions we ask about services: is the service safe and well led? You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for B R Davies - Mobile Dentist on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

We revisited BR Davies - Mobile Dentist as part of this review and checked whether they had followed their action plan and to confirm that they now met the legal requirements. We carried out this announced inspection on 17 October 2017 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We planned the inspection to check whether the registered provider was meeting the legal requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was supported by a specialist dental adviser.

  • Is it safe
  • Is it well-led?

This question forms the framework for the areas we look at during the inspection.

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background

B R Davies - Mobile Dentist provides NHS and private domiciliary treatment to patients within Humberside and East Yorkshire. This service is provided in either a care home setting or in patients’ homes.

The dental team includes one dentist and one dental nurse.

The service is owned by an individual who is the principal dentist. They have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the service is run.

During the inspection we spoke with the dentist and dental nurse.

The services are provided:

Monday – Friday 8:30am – 2pm.

Our key findings were:

  • Staff knew how to deal with emergencies. Appropriate medicines and life-saving equipment were available.
  • The service had new systems to help them manage risk.
  • Clinical waste was now segregated and stored appropriately.
  • The service had thorough staff recruitment procedures.
  • Staff treated patients with dignity and respect and took care to protect their privacy and personal information.
  • Governance arrangements were now in place to support the smooth running of the service; the service was working towards auditing quality and safety
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 26 October 2017

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The service implemented systems and processes to provide safe care and treatment.

We found there were logs in place to monitor the use of prescription pads.

Clinical waste was now segregated and stored appropriately.

All risk assessments were now in place, including domiciliary care and sharps.

The service now received MHRA alerts and had reviewed historical alerts with actions documented.

There were COSHH arrangements in place for the materials used and all risk assessments were completed.

The service had suitable arrangements for dealing with medical and other emergencies.

Effective

No action required

Updated 31 August 2017

We found that this service was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The dentist assessed patients’ needs and provided domiciliary care that was usually resticted to the provision of denture care.

Patients described the treatment they received as professional, convenient and they were made to feel at ease. The dentist discussed treatment with patients so they could give informed consent. This was not always recorded in their dental care records and we found other improvements which could be made to information recorded in dental care records including the provision of preventative advice.

The service did not have clear arrangements when patients needed to be referred to other dental or health care professionals.

The dentist supported the dental nurse to complete training relevant to their roles.

Caring

No action required

Updated 31 August 2017

We found that this service was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We received feedback about the service from six people. Patients were positive about all aspects of the service the service provided. They told us staff were kind and patient. Patients commented that they made them feel at ease, especially when they were anxious about the dentist.

We saw that staff protected patients’ privacy and were aware of the importance of confidentiality. Patients said staff treated them with dignity and respect.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 31 August 2017

We found that this service was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The service’s appointment system was efficient and met patients’ needs. Patients could get an appointment quickly if in pain.

Staff considered patients’ different needs. The service provided care in their home or care home setting.

The service took patients views seriously. They valued compliments from patients and responded to concerns and complaints quickly and constructively.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 26 October 2017

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The service had arrangements to ensure the smooth running of the service. There was a new governance arrangement in place, including:

• Domiciliary care

• COSHH

• Clinical waste

• Recruitment

• Infection prevention and control policies

• Health and safety polices

• Safe use of sharps

• Safeguarding adults and children policies

• Whistleblowing policy

• Equality and diversity policy.

• Mental Capacity policy

The service team kept patient dental care records which were, clearly written and stored securely.

The service was in the process of implementing audits of clinical and non-clinical areas of their work to help them improve and learn.