You are here

Archived: Tanglewood Mews (Autism Care UK) Good

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 30 March 2015

This inspection took place on 14 January and 9 February 2015 and was unannounced. This meant the staff and provider did not know we would be visiting.

Tanglewood Mews provides care and accommodation for adults with a learning disability in residential and personal care to people living in the supported living settings. On the day of our inspection there were 18 people using the service, six people were in residential accommodation and 12 people were in supported living accommodation.

The home and supported living service had the same registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Tanglewood Mews was last inspected by CQC on 15 August 2013 and was compliant.

There were sufficient numbers of staff on duty in order to meet the needs of people using the service. The provider had an effective recruitment and selection procedure in place and carried out relevant checks when they employed staff.

We saw evidence that thorough investigations had been carried out in response to safeguarding incidents or allegations.

Medicines were securely stored and staff medication assessments took place.

Staff training was up to date however staff did not receive regular supervisions and appraisals, which meant that staff were not properly supported to provide care to people who used the service.

We did not find evidence of consent to care and treatment for people in the residential accommodation as none of the care records we looked at contained signed consent forms.

The home and supported living accommodation was clean, spacious and suitable for the people who used the service.

CQC monitors the operation of the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) which applies to care homes. The Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) are part of the Mental Capacity Act 2005. They aim to make sure that people in care homes, hospitals and supported living are looked after in a way that does not inappropriately restrict their freedom. We discussed DoLS with the locality manager and looked at records. We found the provider was following the requirements in the DoLS.

We saw staff supporting and helping to maintain people’s independence. We saw staff treated people with dignity and respect and people were encouraged to care for themselves where possible.

We saw there was a full programme of activities in place for people who used the service.

People’s needs were regularly reviewed and we saw care plans were written in a person centred way.

We saw a copy of the provider’s complaints policy and saw that complaints were fully investigated.

The provider had a robust quality assurance system in place and gathered information about the quality of their service from a variety of sources.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 30 March 2015

The service was safe.

There were sufficient numbers of staff on duty in order to meet the needs of people who used the service and the provider had an effective recruitment and selection procedure in place.

Thorough investigations had been carried out in response to safeguarding incidents or allegations.

Medicines were securely stored and staff medication assessments took place.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 30 March 2015

The service was not effective.

Staff training was up to date however staff did not receive regular supervisions and appraisals.

There was no evidence that consent had been obtained for the care and treatment of people living in the residential accommodation.

The provider was meeting the requirements of the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS).

Caring

Good

Updated 30 March 2015

The service was caring.

Staff treated people with dignity and respect.

People were encouraged to be independent and care for themselves where possible.

People we saw were well presented and we saw staff talking with people in a polite and respectful manner.

People had been involved in writing their support plans and their wishes were taken into consideration.

Responsive

Good

Updated 30 March 2015

The service was responsive.

Care records were regularly reviewed and risk assessments were in place where required..

There was a full programme of activities in place for people who used the service.

The provider had a complaints policy and we saw that complaints were fully investigated. People we spoke with knew how to make a complaint.

Well-led

Good

Updated 30 March 2015

The service was well led.

The provider had a robust quality assurance system in place and gathered information about the quality of their service from a variety of sources.

Staff we spoke with told us the registered manager was approachable and they felt supported in their role.