You are here

Archived: Fessey House Good

This service was previously managed by a different provider - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 29 July 2015

Fessey House provides accommodation and personal care for up to 39 older people. At the time of our inspection there were 37 people living there. The bedrooms are arranged over two floors and divided into four units. Two of the units provide long-term care and support to people living with dementia. The other two are discharge to assess units and offer short term care and support. People on these units are there for a period of assessment to either assist them to move back to their own homes with some rehabilitation or support them to move to more suitable accommodation. There are communal lounges and a dining area on each floor with a central kitchen and laundry. The home is part of SEQOL, a social enterprise which is a business with a social purpose to provide quality care and support to adults living in Swindon and the surrounding areas.

The inspection took place on 1 and 2 July 2015. This was an unannounced inspection. During our last inspection in September 2013 we found the provider satisfied the legal requirements in the areas that we looked at.

A registered manager was employed by the service. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We looked at four care plans and found that some guidance did not always identify how care and support should be provided. This meant that people were at risk of not receiving the care and support they needed.

People told us they felt safe living at Fessey House and they were well looked after. Systems were in place to protect people from abuse. Staff knew how to identify if people were at risk of abuse and what actions they needed to take to ensure people were protected.

Care staff we spoke with demonstrated a good understanding of people’s care needs, important people and significant events in their lives. Staff were also knowledgeable of people’s daily routines and preferences.

People were supported to eat a balanced diet. There were arrangements for people to access specialist diets where required. There were snacks and drinks available throughout the day during our inspection.

Staff managed medicines safely and ensured people received their medicines as prescribed.

There were effective systems in place to reduce the risk and spread of infection. Staff we spoke with were clear about their responsibility in regard to infection control.

Staff said they felt confident to raise any concerns with the management team and would feel supported and their concerns listened to and acted upon. There was a positive open culture between management and staff.

Health and social care professionals spoke positively about the care and support people received and praised the management team.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 29 July 2015

This service was safe.

There were systems in place to keep people safe from harm. Where required the provider had reported incidents to the appropriate authorities and carried out the necessary investigations.

Suitable numbers of staff were employed to meet people’s needs. Safe recruitment practices were in place.

Arrangements were in place for keeping the home clean and hygienic and to ensure people were protected from the risk of infections.

Effective

Good

Updated 29 July 2015

This service was effective.

We found the service met the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act (2005), including Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards.

People were cared for by staff who had received appropriate training to meet their individual needs.

There were arrangements in place to ensure staff received regular supervision and appraisal.

People received sufficient food and drink and their health needs were met.

Caring

Good

Updated 29 July 2015

This service was caring.

People and their relatives spoke positively about the care they received. All commented that staff were friendly and helpful.

We saw staff were caring and spoke with people using the service in a dignified and respectful manner.

People were supported to maintain their independence as appropriate. There were opportunities for people to make day to day choices, such as what meals they wished to eat and participation in activities.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 29 July 2015

This service was not always responsive.

We looked at four care plans and found that some guidance did not always identify how care and support should be provided. This meant that people were at risk of not receiving the care and support they needed.

Staff spent time with people to make sure they received care that was responsive to their needs.

People and/or their relatives said they were able to speak with staff or the managers if they had any concerns or a complaint. They were confident their concerns would be listened to and appropriate action taken.

Well-led

Good

Updated 29 July 2015

This service was well-led.

Staff were motivated, caring and received training appropriate to their role. Staff we spoke with were positive about the support they received from management and other colleagues.

There were systems in place for monitoring the quality of the service to ensure people received a high standard of care and support.

The service had a clear set of values which included treating people with dignity and respect and promoting independence.