You are here

Archived: St Helier Dental Surgery

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 8 January 2019

We undertook a follow up inspection of St Helier Dental Surgery on 7 December 2018. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was supported by a specialist dental adviser.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of St Helier Dental Surgery on 15 June 2018 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing well led care in accordance with the relevant regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for St Helier Dental Surgery on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

When one or more of the five questions are not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the area where improvement was required.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breach we found at our inspection on 15 June 2018.

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background

St Helier is in the London borough of Merton and provides NHS and private treatment to adults and children.

There is level access for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs. Unrestricted car parking spaces are available in local surrounding roads.

The dental team includes five dentists, five dental nurses (two of which also provide reception duties), two dental hygienists and two receptionists. The practice has three treatment rooms.

The practice is owned by an individual who is the principal dentist there. They have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run.

During the inspection we spoke with the principal dentist and two dental nurses and the receptionist. We looked at practice policies and procedures and other records about how the service is managed.

Our key findings were:

  • The provider had established effective systems and processes to ensure good governance in accordance with the fundamental standards of care.

  • Systems were in place to demonstrate how they used learning from incidents and complaints to improve the service.

  • Systems were in place to monitor staff training.

  • Policies and procedures were up to date

  • An up to date sharps risk assessment was in place.

  • All staff had completed recent medical emergencies training.

  • Systems were in place to obtain and store documentation relating to staff recruitment.

  • The provider had reviewed their responsibilities to consider the needs of patients with disabilities.

  • The safeguarding policy was up to date and details of the local authority were readily available to staff.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 27 July 2018

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had systems and processes to provide safe care and treatment. However, they did not demonstrate how they used learning from incidents and complaints to help them improve the service.

We were told that staff had received training in safeguarding and knew how to recognise the signs of abuse and how to report concerns. We did not see certificates to confirm this but staff we spoke with demonstrated awareness. Safeguarding policies required updating.

Staff were qualified for their roles and the practice completed essential recruitment checks. Although they did not have documentation to confirm this in all instances.

Premises and equipment were clean and properly maintained. The practice followed national guidance for cleaning, sterilising and storing dental instruments.

The practice had suitable arrangements for dealing with medical and other emergencies.

Effective

No action required

Updated 27 July 2018

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with

the relevant regulations.

The dentists assessed patients’ needs and provided care and treatment in line with recognised guidance. Patients described the treatment they received as professional, skilful and attentive. The dentists discussed treatment with patients so they could give informed consent and recorded this in their records.

The practice had clear arrangements when patients needed to be referred to other dental or health care professionals.

Caring

No action required

Updated 27 July 2018

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with

the relevant regulations.

We received feedback about the practice from 90 people. Most patients were positive about all aspects of the service the practice provided. We received two comments relating to lack of appointment availability and getting through quickly on the phone. They told us staff were attentive, friendly and treated them with dignity and respect.

They said that they were made to feel relaxed and confident and staff gave them helpful explanations about dental treatment, and said their dentist listened to them. Patients commented that they made them feel at ease, especially when they were anxious about visiting the dentist.

We saw that staff protected patients’ privacy and were aware of the importance of confidentiality. Patients said staff treated them with dignity and respect.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 27 July 2018

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice’s appointment system was efficient and met patients’ needs. Patients could get an appointment quickly if in pain.

Staff considered patients’ different needs. This included providing facilities for disabled patients and families with children. The practice had access to telephone and face to face interpreter services and had arrangements to help patients with sight or hearing loss.

The practice took patients views seriously. They valued compliments from patients and responded to concerns and complaints quickly and constructively.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 8 January 2019

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with

the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to the management of the service. This included implementing a new electronic system for monitoring staff recruitment and staff training, updating policies and procedures and providing additional staff time available for management and administration. The improvements provided a sound footing for the ongoing development of effective governance arrangements at the practice.