You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 8 August 2018

At the last inspection on 23 November 2015 we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

The inspection of Park Riding took place on 13 July 2018 and was unannounced. Park Riding is a family owned residential care home situated close to the town centre of Holmfirth in West Yorkshire. It provides personal care and accommodation for up to 16 people. On the day of our visit 15 people were using the service.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The consent of the relevant person was usually recorded. However decision specific mental capacity assessments and best interest decisions had not been recorded for a small number of people whose health had deteriorated, and they may now lack the mental capacity to make their own decisions. We made a recommendation about this. The registered manager sent us evidence this was being rectified following our inspection.

People told us they felt safe. Risk assessments were individual to people’s needs and minimised risk whilst promoting people’s independence. Robust emergency plans were in place in the event of a fire or the need to evacuate the building.

Incidents and accidents were analysed and action taken to prevent future risks.

Staff had a good understanding of how to safeguard adults from abuse and sufficient staff were on duty to provide a good level of interaction.

Safe recruitment and selection processes were in place. A system was in place to ensure medicines were managed in a safe way for people.

Staff told us they felt supported and records showed they had received role specific training and regular supervision and appraisal to fulfil their role effectively.

People’s individual nutritional needs were met and people were supported to access a range of health professionals to maintain their health and well-being.

The service worked in partnership with community professionals and used good practice guidance to ensure staff had the information they needed to provide good quality care.

Staff were caring and supported people in a way that maintained their dignity and privacy. Observation of the staff and the management team showed they knew people well and could anticipate their needs. People were supported to be as independent as possible throughout their daily lives.

Individual needs were assessed and met through the development of detailed personalised care plans which considered people’s equality and diversity needs and preferences. People had access to social and leisure activities.

Systems were in place to ensure complaints were encouraged, explored and responded to.

Everyone told us the home was well led. The registered manager had an effective system of governance in place to monitor and improve the quality and safety of the service.

People who used the service and their relatives were asked for their views about the service and these were acted on.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 8 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 8 August 2018

The service has deteriorated to Requires Improvement.

Caring

Good

Updated 8 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 8 August 2018

The service remains Good.