You are here

Essex Ultrasound & Medical Services Limited Good Also known as Essexultrasound

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

Essex Ultrasound and Medical Services is operated by Essex Ultrasound and Medical Services Limited. It is a diagnostic service located in Canvey Island, Essex. The service has one ultrasound scanning room, an office and a waiting area shared with patients who use other facilities located at the site.

The service has one registered location with additional services provided from five satellite clinics held at GP Practices based in Basildon, Brentwood, South Woodham Ferrers, Maldon and Southend.

The service provides diagnostic imaging through the use of ultrasound imaging to NHS and private patients aged 18 years and above. Modes of ultrasound scanning included but were not limited to; musculoskeletal, upper and lower abdominal ultrasound, kidney, bladder, scrotal transvaginal and thyroid.

This was the services first inspection since it registered with CQC in November 2016. We inspected this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology. We carried out the inspection on 16 October 2018.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we ask the same five questions of all services: are they safe, effective, caring, responsive to people's needs, and well-led? Where we have a legal duty to do so we rate services’ performance against each key question as outstanding, good, requires improvement or inadequate.

Throughout the inspection, we took account of what people told us and how the provider understood and complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

The only service provided at this location was diagnostic imaging.

Services we rate

Our rating of this service was good overall.

We found areas of good practice in diagnostic imaging:

  • The dedicated clinical room used for the patient scanning was clean, tidy and contained the appropriate resources which were stored correctly.
  • Equipment maintenance and service records were fully itemised, organised and maintained.
  • Appointments were scheduled to meet the needs and demands of the patients who required these services.
  • There were processes in place for the escalation of unexpected findings during ultrasound scans. The service had developed links with the local NHS trusts to enable an onward referral for patients.
  • Written feedback from patients was overwhelmingly positive.
  • We also found the following issues that the service provider needs to improve:
  • The providers submitted statement of purpose registered the service to provide diagnostic and screening services to people of 18 and above. Between the reporting period July 2017 to August 2018 the provider delivered these services to 179 young people between 16 to 18 years of age, which was outside the submitted statement of purpose. Once we highlighted this at the inspection the provider stated that they would no longer offer this service to young people between the ages of 16 to18 years.
  • We found issues regarding the environment of the clinical room which did not fully support the privacy of the patient.

Following this inspection, we told the provider that it must take some actions to comply with the regulations and that it should make other improvements. We also issued the provider with one requirement notice that affected diagnostic and screening procedures details are at the end of the report.

Amanda Stanford

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

Are services safe?

We rated safe as good because:

  • The service had a robust track record for safety. There had been no never events or serious incidents reported between July 2017 to August 2018.
  • Equipment maintenance and service records were fully itemised, organised and maintained.
  • There was one dedicated clinical room used for the patient scanning which we viewed and found it to be clean, tidy and contained the appropriate resources which were stored correctly.
  • All new staff completed an Induction programme and told us they felt well supported and prepared for working within this area.

However, we also found the following issues that the service provider needs to improve:

  • The providers submitted statement of purpose registered the service to provide diagnostic and screening services to people of 18 and above. Between the reporting period July 2017 to August 2018 the provider delivered these services to 179 young people between 16 to 18 years of age, which was outside the submitted statement of purpose. Once we highlighted this at the inspection the provider stated that they would no longer offer this service to young people between the ages of 16 to18 years.
  • We found issues regarding the environment of the clinical room which did not fully support the privacy of the patient.

Effective

Updated 18 January 2019

Caring

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

We rated caring as good because:

  • We heard staff interactions with service users which were supportive and professional.
  • Staff explained to us how they had provided comfort to a patient and her partner who had suffered a bereavement by ensuring that they were given the privacy and the time to grieve.
  • Staff described how the patient’s dignity and privacy were protected through the use of a privacy cover and curtains.
  • The service received positive patient feedback with comments such as how gentle, efficient and caring staff were.

Responsive

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

We rated responsive as good because:

  • The clinical room was suitable and appropriate to meet the needs of the patients.
  • The service ensured there were appointments available to meet the needs of the patients.
  • Clinics were organised to ensure availability in all locations.
  • Patients were sent a text to remind them of their appointment.

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

We rated well-led as good because:

  • Leaders were visible, approachable and supportive to staff.
  • Staff could verbalise who the services Caldicott Guardian was.
  • There was a positive culture amongst all staff. Staff enjoyed working for the service and would recommend this as a place to work.
  • Team meetings took place on a quarterly basis.

However,

  • The providers submitted statement of purpose registered the service to provide diagnostic and screening services to people of 18 and above. Between the reporting period July 2017 to August 2018 the provider delivered these services to 179 young people between 16 to 18 years of age, which was outside the submitted statement of purpose. Once we highlighted this at the inspection the provider stated that they would no longer offer this service to young people between the ages of 16 to18 years.
Checks on specific services

Diagnostic imaging

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

         

Essex Ultrasound and Medical Services is operated by Essex Ultrasound & Medical services limited. The service provides diagnostic imaging services (ultrasound scans) to the local communities in and around the Essex area. 

The service is registered to provide diagnostic imaging (ultrasound scans) to patients 18 years and above.

We rated this core service as good overall because care and treatment provided was based on best practice and delivered by competent staff.

The service controlled infection risk well and had an updated infection prevention and control policy.

Patients could access care and treatment in a timely way and in locations to meet their needs.

Patient feedback about the service was positive. 

Managers across the service promoted a positive culture that supported and valued staff, creating a sense of common purpose based on shared values.

Governance processes were in place to provide adequate assurances of service provision and drove improvements.