You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Regency Hall. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 1 November 2018

Regency Hall is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Regency accommodates up to 68 people in one building. On the day of our inspection there were 18 people living in the service.

We inspected the service on 3 August 2018. The inspection was unannounced.

This was a follow up to the inspection carried out in January 2018 where we had concerns about the care of people. At this inspection visit we found the provider had made the improvements we found necessary to care for people safely and effectively.

The service had a registered manager who supported staff and ensured the service was run in the best interests of the people who lived at Regency Hall.

People were kept safe through the use of effective care planning and risk assessment and management. There was sufficient trained staff who were given clear directions on how to care for people and their performance was reviewed and managed.

The service was clean and fresh and there were processes in place to keep the service infection free.

Medicine was stored and administered as prescribed. Accurate records were kept.

People were now consulted on how they wanted their care delivered. Care plans were now inclusive and were up to date and reflected people’s needs and wishes. There were communication systems in place to ensure all staff were aware of the current needs and welfare of people.

Staff ensured they had the person’s consent to care for them and when people were unable to give consent appropriate actions were taken. Staff had knowledge on how to safeguard people and what to do should they have concerns.

People’s dignity and independence was promoted as staff delivered care in a person centred and caring manner. Staff were kind and caring in their interactions with people.

Complaints were investigated and responded to in a timely manner. The service received many compliments.

The provider ensured there was a system in place to inform CQC of incidents. Records were up to date and were stored in a confidential manner.

There was a quality assurance process in place that covered all aspects of the service. Accidents and incidents were recorded and reviewed to reduce the chance of a re-occurrence.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 1 November 2018

The service was caring.

Staff were seen to be kind, respectful and caring in their interactions with people. People’s dignity and independence was promoted at all times. People views were included in how the service was managed.

Effective

Good

Updated 1 November 2018

The service was effective.

People’s care plans were up to date and reflective of people’s needs and wishes. People’s consent was sought. People’s health care was promoted through good nutrition and safe working practices and appropriate contact form health and social care professionals.

Caring

Good

Updated 1 November 2018

The service was caring.

Staff were seen to be kind, respectful and caring in their interactions with people. People’s dignity and independence was promoted at all times. People views were included in how the service was managed.

Responsive

Good

Updated 1 November 2018

The service was responsive.

Care was person centred and people were offered a variety of activities to keep them from being bored. There was a complaints process in place and complaints were investigated and actions taken in needed. The service received many complements.

Well-led

Good

Updated 1 November 2018

The service was well led.

The provider had addressed our concerns raised at the last inspection. There was a quality assurance process in place to review all aspects of care provided by the service. Staff were well managed and morale was high. Staff were offered support through the supervision system. The provider had processes in place to ensure CQC was informed of reportable incidents in a timely manner.