You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

Gilwood lodge is registered to accommodate a maximum of 47 people and specialises in providing care for people who live with dementia. The home is located in the south shore area of Blackpool close to the promenade. The home has two floors with lift access to the first floor. Rooms are en suite and there are bathroom and toilet facilities on both floors. Lounges and dining areas are also located on both floors. Private car parking facilities are available for people visiting. At the time of our inspection visit there were 46 people who lived at the home.

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service on 28 February 2017. Breaches of legal requirements were found in relation to record keeping and ensuring sufficient numbers of suitably qualified, competent, skilled and experienced persons were deployed to meet people’s needs. After the comprehensive inspection, the provider wrote to us to say what they would do to meet legal requirements.

We carried out an unannounced focused inspection on 20 July 2017 and found the provider had followed their plan and legal requirements had been met. The service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of Good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

There was a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People who lived at the home and their visitors told us they were happy with the care provided at the home and staff were caring and compassionate. Comments received included, “I visit at various times every day and always find the same standards of care. Excellent.” And, “The staff are very pleasant and caring.”

People visiting the home told us they felt their relatives were safe in the care of staff who supported them. One person said, “I am quite happy [relative] is here and I know they are safe. The staff are wonderful.”

Procedures were in place to record safeguarding concerns, accidents and incidents and take necessary action as required. Staff had received safeguarding training and understood their responsibilities to report unsafe care or abusive practices.

Risk assessments had been developed to minimise the potential risk of harm to people during the delivery of their care. These had been kept under review and were relevant to the care provided.

Staff had been recruited safely, appropriately trained and supported. They had skills, knowledge and experience required to support people with their care and social needs.

The service had sufficient staffing levels in place to provide support people required. We saw staff showed concern for people’s wellbeing and responded quickly when people required their help.

Medication procedures observed protected people from unsafe management of their medicines. People received their medicines as prescribed and when needed and appropriate records had been completed.

We saw there was an emphasis on promoting dignity, respect and independence for people who lived at the home. People told us staff treated them as individuals and delivered person centred care.

We looked around the building and found it had been maintained, was clean and hygienic and a safe place to live. We found equipment had been serviced and maintained as required.

The service had safe infection control procedures in place. People who lived at the home told us they were happy with the standard of hygiene.

People were supported to have maximum choice and con

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remains Good.