You are here

Archived: Addiscombe Dental Surgery

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 5 July 2016

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection of this service on 14 July 2015 as part of our regulatory functions where a breach of legal requirements was found. After the comprehensive inspection, the practice wrote to us to say what they would do to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breach.

We carried out a follow- up inspection on 25 May 2016 to check that they had followed their plan and to confirm that they now met the legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements. We revisited Addiscombe Dental Surgery as part of this review.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Addiscombe Dental Surgery our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 5 July 2016

At our previous inspection we had found that the practice did not have effective systems in place to assess the risk of, and prevent, detect and control the spread of infections, including those that are health care associated. They did not have proper arrangements in place to deal with medical emergencies.

We carried out an inspection on the 25 May 2016. Action had been taken to ensure that the practice was safe because there were now effective systems in place to assess the risk of, and prevent, detect and control the spread of infections, including those that are health care associated. There were also proper arrangements in place to deal with medical emergencies.

We found that this practice was now providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Effective

No action required

Updated 5 July 2016

At our previous inspection we found that this practice was not ensuring that staff had received appropriate supporting, training, professional development, supervision and appraisals as was necessary to enable them to carry out the duties they were employed to perform.

We carried out an inspection on the 25 May 2016. Action had been taken to ensure that the practice was effective because there were now effective systems in place to ensure staff received appropriate training, supervision and support.

We found that this practice was now providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Caring

No action required

Updated 5 July 2016

At our previous inspection we found that this practice was not providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations. We observed patients’ privacy may not have been protected. People in reception were able to hear private conversations from the surgery. We also noted that the day list with patient’s names and dates of birth was on display on the wall where other people could observe this.

We carried out an inspection on the 25 May 2016. Action had been taken to ensure that the practice was observing patients’ privacy and confidentiality.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 15 October 2015

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Patients had good access to appointments, including emergency appointments, which were available on the same day. The needs of people with disabilities had been considered in terms of accessing the service. The practice had a system in place to schedule enough time to assess and meet patients’ needs. Patients were invited to provide feedback via the use of the ‘Friends and Family Test’, in the waiting area. There was a clear complaints procedure and information about how to make a complaint was displayed in the waiting area.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 5 July 2016

At our previous inspection we had found that the practice had not established an effective system to assess, monitor and mitigate the risks relating to the health, safety and welfare of patients, staff and visitors. They had also not ensured that their audit, risk assessment and governance systems were effective.

We carried out an inspection on the 25 May 2016. Action had been taken to ensure that the practice was well-led because there were now effective system to assess, monitor and mitigate the risks relating to the health, safety and welfare of patients, staff and visitors. The providers had now ensured that their audit, risk assessment and governance systems were effective.

We found that this practice was now providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.