You are here

Archived: Antrobus Medical Limited

This service is now registered at a different address - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 4 May 2018

We carried out an announced focused inspection at Antrobus Medical Limited on 9 January 2018 to follow up on breaches of regulations found during the previous inspection.

We previously inspected Antrobus Medical Limited on 11 May 2017. The full comprehensive report of this inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all services’ link for location name on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Antrobus Medical Limited operates an online consultation and prescription service, through the website www.webmedpharmacy.co.uk, which specialises in treatment of conditions primarily concerning sexual health. A medical questionnaire is completed by each patient and a doctor can seek more information prior to prescribing by using a secure messaging system.

Our findings in relation to the key questions were as follows:

Are services safe? – We found the service was providing a safe service in accordance with the relevant regulations. Specifically:

  • A new system was in place where upon registering with the service, patient identity was verified; this was being undertaken for patients returning to the service and requiring a consultation, where they had previously not been required to prove their identity, as well as for new patients. On further consultations, a secondary check was conducted to confirm the identity of the patient if a prescription was issued.
  • Conversations regarding patients were now completed through the internal messaging system and automatically recorded in the patients’ notes so they could be reviewed if necessary.

Are services effective? - We found the service was providing an effective service in accordance with the relevant regulations. Specifically:

  • When a patient contacted the service, they were asked if the details of their consultation could be shared with their registered GP. If patients agreed, we were told that a letter was sent to their registered GP in line with GMC guidance. If they did not consent then a letter was dispatched with the medicines, which the patient could give to their GP.
  • An automated solution had been initiated to ensure patients who had two separate records were flagged and the patient contacted to amalgamate the records into their preferred account.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 4 May 2018

We found that this service was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Effective

Updated 4 May 2018

We found that this service was providing effective service in accordance with the relevant regulations

Caring

Updated 4 May 2018

Responsive

Updated 4 May 2018

Well-led

Updated 4 May 2018