You are here

Westminster Homecare Limited (Bexley) Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 July 2018

Westminster Homecare (Bexley) provides domiciliary care and support to people living in the community and to people living in specialist 'extra care’ housing. The domiciliary service provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats in the community in Dartford, Gravesend, Bexley and surrounding areas. Extra care housing is purpose-built or adapted single household accommodation in a shared site or building. The accommodation is bought or rented, and is the occupant’s own home. People's care and housing are provided under separate contractual agreements. CQC does not regulate premises used for extra care housing. This inspection looked at people's personal care and support service. The service provides support to older adults, people with physical disabilities and people with mental health needs. At the time of the inspection the service was providing care for 282 people.

The service is run by a registered manager who was present at the inspection visit to the office. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection we rated the service Good. However, we identified a breach of Regulation 18 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. The provider had failed to ensure that staff received appropriate training in Mental Capacity and record keeping, and supervision as is necessary to enable them to carry out the duties they were employed to perform. We asked the provider to send us a plan of action which they returned on 16 November 2017, setting out what they would do to meet legal requirements in relation to the breach.

At this inspection on 4 June 2018 we found that improvements had been made to ensure that staff had received the training they required for their role, knew how to follow the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) and received regular supervisions. We found the evidence continued to support the rating of Good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on- going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

Improvements had been made to staff’s understanding of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and how to put its principles into practice. Staff had received training in this area, understood that people had capacity to make day to day decisions and best interest meetings were held as needed.

Staff felt well supported. They were supported by means of an annual appraisal, regular staff meetings and supervisions. Improvements had been made to make sure that supervisions were completed in line with the service's policies. Staff underwent a comprehensive induction program and regular training to ensure they were up to date with practice.

Care plans continued to be constructed jointly with people and their relatives and included people's social, physical and emotional needs. They were drawn up after a comprehensive assessment and reviewed regularly.

People told us they felt safe and trusted the staff who cared for them. Staff understood how to follow the service’s safeguarding and whistle blowing policy to keep people safe.

People told us they were treated with dignity and respect by staff who were polite and caring. The service had received compliments about the caring nature of the staff team.

Staff were aware of the risk assessments in place for people and their environment and the appropriate management strategies in place to protect people from avoidable harm.

There continued to be enough staff available to s

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 July 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 25 July 2018

We found that action had been taken to improve the effectiveness of the service.

Improvements had been made to ensure that staff received the supervision and training they required for their role.

People's capacity was assessed and staff understood how to follow the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

People were supported to remain as healthy as possible including maintaining their nutrition and hydration.

People were supported to access healthcare professionals when required.

Caring

Good

Updated 25 July 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 July 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 25 July 2018

The service remains good.