You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Babylon Healthcare Services Ltd. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 21 May 2019

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We previously inspected location name on 4 July 2017. The full comprehensive report on inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all services’ link for location name on our website at .

At our previous inspection on 4 July 2017 we found that in some areas the service was not providing safe and effective care. We issued a requirement notice in relation to Regulation 12, Safe Care and Treatment.

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Babylon Healthcare Services Ltd on 7 February 2019 to follow up on the breach of regulation identified during the previous inspection. At this inspection, we found the provider had addressed the issues identified at the last inspection.

Babylon Healthcare Service Ltd provides an online GP consultation service. They employ GPs on the General Medical Council (GMC) GP register to work remotely and undertake patient consultations. Patients are able to book a ten minute consultation with a GP, 24/7, 365 days a year. Consultations are undertaken through video call or phone call. Subscribers to the GP consultation service can pay a monthly fee or pay for each consultation.

Our findings in relation to the key questions were as follows:

Are services safe?

We found the service was providing a safe service in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found the service was providing an effective service in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services caring?

We found the service was providing a caring service in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found the service was providing a responsive service in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found the service was providing a well-led service in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The areas where the provider should make improvements are:

  • Implement a system for identifying the location of each patient at the time of their consultation, in order that help can be sent to them in an emergency.
  • Improve the written information supplied to patients who are prescribed medicines for unlicensed indications.
  • Continue to review the management of clinical risk in video consultations.
  • Develop quality improvement activities to improve outcomes in the quality of care patients receive.
  • Continue to review and implement the policy relating to the clinical circumstances where information should be shared with the NHS GP especially in relation to the treatment of long-term conditions.
  • Improve the arrangements for patients wishing to book an appointment with a GP of a specific gender.
  • Improve the whistleblowing policy to ensure it includes external organisations for reporting concerns.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGPChief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 21 May 2019

Effective

Updated 21 May 2019

Caring

Updated 21 May 2019

Responsive

Updated 21 May 2019

Well-led

Updated 21 May 2019