You are here

Archived: The Huntercombe Hospital East Yorkshire

We are carrying out checks at The Huntercombe Hospital East Yorkshire. We will publish a report when our check is complete.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 22 April 2015

Overall we found that The Huntercombe Hospital East Yorkshire was safe, effective, caring, responsive and well led.

Patients and staff told us they felt safe in the hospital, there were good care plans, risk assessments and outcome tools being used and patients were fully involved in their care. We found that discharge planning started at the point of admission.

Overall patients spoken with gave positive feedback regarding staff saying they could approach them with any issues they had, and that staff treated them with respect.

All staff groups felt supported by managers and they had access to supervision sessions both group and individual and other peer to peer support.

Staffs understanding of the organisations vision and values were mixed, however clinical governance systems were in place which assisted the provider to monitor and improve the quality of care.

But we also found:

  • Staffs’ compliance with mandatory training was poor in some areas, but plans were in place to address this.
  • It was not clear how best interests were assessed and recorded and who was involved in determining the patients’ best interests if they lacked capacity to make decisions in these areas.
  • Patients stated that they often felt bored and did not enjoy the activities and there wasn’t as much choice as they would have liked.
  • We were told that de-briefing occurs after all incidents including episodes of seclusion. However some staff felt that this process was not as robust as it once had been and support could be better for staff following incidents
  • As at November 2014, the overall staff sickness among permanent staff was reported as 7.4%, of which three quarters were nursing and care staff.

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 22 April 2015

The service provided at Huntercombe East Yorkshire was safe because

  • The ward areas were all clean with a reasonable standard of furnishings.

  • All wards had fully equipped clinic rooms, with resuscitation equipment stored in the main ward offices.
  • We looked at duty rosters and these showed that staffing numbers met the standard levels requested.
  • Medical cover was always available 24 hours a day

  • All patients were assessed prior to admission and a full risk assessment process occurred on admission.
  • There were five serious safeguarding concerns in the last 12 months and these were dealt with appropriately.

But we also found

  • That de-briefing occurs after all incidents including episodes of seclusion. However some staff felt that this process was not as robust as it once had been and support could be better for staff following incidents.

Effective

Updated 22 April 2015

The service provided at Huntercombe East Yorkshire was effective because

  • Records showed physical examinations had taken place and physical health problems were monitored. All patients had access to a GP for ongoing monitoring of these conditions.
  • We reviewed the written care plans and were satisfied that staff were fully involving patients in the planning of their care.
  • Patients were offered a range of psychological therapies.
  • Surveys and audits measured the quality and effectiveness of systems.
  • A GP was contracted to undertake physical healthcare treatment for the patients.
  • Overall, systems and processes were in place to protect the rights of patients, detained under the MHA

But we also found

  • Patients stated that they often felt bored and did not enjoy the activities and there wasn’t as much choice as they would have liked.
  • Staff’s compliance to mandatory training was poor in some areas.
  • It was not clear how best interests were assessed and recorded and who was involved in determining the patients’ best interests if they lacked capacity to make decisions in these areas.

Caring

Updated 22 April 2015

The service provided at Huntercombe East Yorkshire were caring because

  • Overall patients we spoke with gave positive feedback regarding staff saying they could approach them with any issues they had and that staff treated them with respect.
  • The provider was able to cater for specialist or religious food choices.
  • We reviewed the written care plans and were satisfied that staff were fully involving patients in the planning of their care.
  • Detained patients had access to an independent mental health act advocate (IMHA) and could make direct contact with them.

Responsive

Updated 22 April 2015

The service provided at Huntercombe East Yorkshire were responsive because

  • We were told that discharge planning starts at the point of admission and was discussed in MDT meetings.
  • There have been no delayed discharges in the last six months.
  • All wards were gender specific and complied with same sex accommodation guidelines.
  • Patients knew how to complain and forms were available for them to do so. This process is described to be much better now than previously and patients and their carers receive appropriate and timely feedback from their complaints.
  • Posters about the complaints procedure where visible on the wards and we were told that a copy of this procedure is included in the admission packs.
  • All care was individualised and risk managed

Well-led

Updated 22 April 2015

The service provided at Huntercombe East Yorkshire were well led because

  • Staff’s understanding of the organisations vision and values were mixed.
  • Team briefs occur monthly and information is cascaded to staff.
  • Staff had access to supervision sessions both group and individual and other professionals such as the psychologists, social workers and doctors all received peer to peer support.

But we also found

  • Nursing staff showed low compliance with mandatory training. Over all at 70% which was below the providers 85% target. The provider had an action plan in place to mitigate these low figures.
  • As at November 2014, the overall staff sickness among permanent staff was reported as 7.4%, of which three quarters were nursing and care staff.
Checks on specific services

Child and adolescent mental health wards

Updated 22 April 2015

Services for people with acquired brain injury

Updated 22 April 2015

Specialist community mental health services for children and young people

Updated 22 April 2015

Community mental health services with learning disabilities or autism

Updated 22 April 2015

Community-based mental health services for older people

Updated 22 April 2015

Mental health crisis services and health-based places of safety

Updated 22 April 2015

Substance misuse services

Updated 22 April 2015

Wards for people with a learning disability or autism

Updated 22 April 2015

Specialist eating disorder services

Updated 22 April 2015

ECT clinics

Updated 22 April 2015

Forensic inpatient/secure wards

Updated 22 April 2015

IAPT services

Updated 22 April 2015

Liaison psychiatry services

Updated 22 April 2015

Long stay or rehabilitation mental health wards for working age adults

Updated 22 April 2015

Wards for older people with mental health problems

Updated 22 April 2015

Outpatient services (for people of all ages)

Updated 22 April 2015

Perinatal services

Updated 22 April 2015

Acute wards for adults of working age and psychiatric intensive care units

Updated 22 April 2015

Specialist psychological therapy services

Updated 22 April 2015

Services for people with psychosexual disorders

Updated 22 April 2015

Psychosurgery services

Updated 22 April 2015

Substance misuse services

Updated 22 April 2015

Personality disorder services

Updated 22 April 2015

Community-based mental health services for adults of working age

Updated 22 April 2015