You are here

Archived: Care Organiser Good

This service is now registered at a different address - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 8 December 2015

We carried out a comprehensive inspection of this service on 23 and 24 June 2015. A breach of a legal requirement was found. This was because although peoples medicine was stored safely, and people received their medicines as prescribed, sometimes it was not clear from records what ‘as required’ medicine people should have and out of date medicines were not always disposed of in a timely manner.

After the comprehensive inspection, the provider wrote to us to say what they would do to meet legal requirements in relation to the breach.

During our last comprehensive inspection we saw that some strong cleaning chemicals were stored in people’s flats. We were concerned that some of the people who used the service may not be safe as these strong cleaning chemicals were easily accessible to them and there were periods during the day when people were left unsupervised in their own homes.

We undertook a focused inspection on the 26 October 2015 to check that the procedures for recording, storing and disposal of peoples medicine’s had been reviewed by staff and to confirm that they had followed their plan to meet legal requirements. We also reviewed the systems in place to risk assess the cleaning chemicals in people’s homes within the supported living service.

This report only covers our findings in relation to this topic. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for ‘Care Organiser’ on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

Care Organiser provides personal care for people who live in supported living accommodation. The people who use the service have a range of needs including learning disabilities some requiring 24 hour support. During our inspection in June 2015, 42 people were using the service accommodated by nine separate supported living units.

The service had a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

During our focused inspections on the 26 October 2015, we found that the provider had followed their plan and legal requirements had been met.

There were improvements to how changes in people’s medicine were recorded audited and the way people’s medicine was disposed of when no longer required. The provider was planning to put a formal competency assessment in place to regularly monitor staff knowledge in medicine administration to ensure people received their medicine safely.

Locks had been placed on storage cupboards in people’s rooms to keep them safe from potentially dangerous cleaning chemicals. The manager had started to risk assess which product would be safe for some people to use independently and had started to put procedures in place for staff to follow. Formal risk assessments regarding people’s use of cleaning chemicals in their own homes had not been carried out. We will look at how the service keeps people safe in their own homes during our next comprehensive inspection.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 8 December 2015

We found that action had been taken to improve aspects of people’s safety. Improvements had been made to the record keeping concerning people’s medicines and the auditing and disposal of out of date medicine. New formal checks were planned to assess staff competency around medicine administration.

This meant that the provider was now meeting legal requirements.

Systems had been recently introduced to help protect people from potentially dangerous cleaning chemicals in their own homes.

We could not improve the rating for safe from requires improvement because to do so requires consistent good practice over time. We will review our rating for safe at the next comprehensive inspection.

Effective

Good

Updated 17 August 2015

The service was effective. People received care from staff who were trained to meet their individual needs. Staff felt supported and received ongoing training and regular management supervision.

People received the support they needed to maintain good health and wellbeing. Staff worked well with health and social care professionals to identify and meet people's needs.

People were protected from the risks of poor nutrition and dehydration. People were supported to have a balanced diet and to eat healthily.

The provider was aware of the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act (2005) to help protect people’s freedoms and rights.

Caring

Good

Updated 17 August 2015

The service was caring. People were involved in making decisions about their care, treatment and support. The care records we viewed contained information about what was important to people and how they wanted to be supported.

Staff had a good knowledge of the people they were supporting and they respected people’s privacy and dignity.

Responsive

Good

Updated 17 August 2015

The service was responsive. People had person centred care records, which were current and outlined their agreed care and support arrangements.

People could choose to participate in a wide range of social activities, both inside and outside the service. People were encouraged and supported by staff to be as independent as they wanted to be.

Relatives told us they were confident in expressing their views, discussing their relatives’ care and raising any concerns. The service had arrangements in place to deal with comments and complaints.

Well-led

Good

Updated 17 August 2015

The service was well-led. Relatives we spoke with knew who the managers were and were positive about how the service was run. Staff told us that their managers were approachable, supportive and listened to them.

Regular staff meetings helped share learning and best practice so staff understood what was expected of them at all levels.

The provider encouraged feedback of the service through regular surveys involving people, their relatives and staff.

Systems were in place to regularly monitor the safety and quality of the service people received and results were used to improve the service.