You are here

Rowena House Limited Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 15 January 2021

About the service

Rowena House Limited is a residential care home providing personal care for up to 22 people aged 65 and over in one adapted building. There were fifteen people living at the home at the time of this inspection.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

Risks associated with the environment were not always managed safely. People did not have diabetic risk management plans in place, where they were living with diabetes. The provider’s systems for monitoring the quality and safety of the service were not always effective in identifying issues or driving improvements.

People were protected from the risk of the spread of infection. We have made a recommendation in regard to following government guidelines around supporting safe visits to the home by family and friends during the pandemic.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection (and update)

The last rating for this service was requires improvement (published 30 May 2019). The home was inspected but not rated in July 2020, at which time there were two regulatory breaches (published August 2020). We took enforcement action following that inspection which included placing a restriction on further admissions to the home without prior agreement from CQC.

At this inspection we found whilst improvements had been made, further improvement was still required and the provider remained in breach of both regulations.

Why we inspected

We undertook this targeted inspection to check whether the breaches of Regulations 12 and 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 had been met. The overall rating for the service has not changed following this targeted inspection and remains Requires Improvement.

CQC have introduced targeted inspections to follow up on previous enforcements action or to check specific concerns. They do not look at an entire key question, only the part of the key question we are specifically concerned about. Targeted inspections do not change the rating from the previous inspection. This is because they do not assess all areas of a key question.

Enforcement

We are mindful of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on our regulatory function. This meant we took account of the exceptional circumstances arising as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic when considering what enforcement action was necessary and proportionate to keep people safe as a result of this inspection. We will continue to discharge our regulatory enforcement functions required to keep people safe and to hold providers to account where it is necessary for us to do so.

We have identified breaches in relation to failing to adequately ensure risks to people are managed safely and failing to ensure effective systems are in place to monitor the quality and safety of the service at this inspection.

Please see the action we have told the provider to take at the end of this report.

Follow up

We will request an action plan for the provider to understand what they will do to improve the standards of quality and safety. We will work alongside the provider and local authority to monitor progress. We will return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 15 January 2021

At our last comprehensive inspection we rated this key question requires improvement. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.

Effective

Good

Updated 15 January 2021

Caring

Good

Updated 15 January 2021

Responsive

Good

Updated 15 January 2021

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 15 January 2021

At our last comprehensive inspection we rated this key question requires improvement. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.