You are here

Archived: 16 Brimley

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 8 April 2013
Date of Publication: 3 May 2013
Inspection Report published 3 May 2013 PDF

People should be protected from abuse and staff should respect their human rights (outcome 7)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are protected from abuse, or the risk of abuse, and their human rights are respected and upheld.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 8 April 2013, observed how people were being cared for and checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care. We talked with people who use the service and talked with staff.

Our judgement

People who used the service were protected from the risk of abuse, because the provider had taken reasonable steps to identify the possibility of abuse and prevent abuse from happening.

Reasons for our judgement

When we visited in May and July 2012 we found that the provider did not have adequate systems in place to show that the financial arrangements that had been set up with each person, were agreed upon or were being handled correctly. There had also been a high level of concern that the three people lacked the capacity to manage their own financial affairs. Since that inspection the arrangements for management of the financial affairs for each person had been amended. The financial affairs for each of the three people were now managed by the ‘Client Affairs’ department of Gloucestershire County Council. The provider / manager and carer continued to support people to access their money, and kept records where they had supported or been involved in financial transactions. The provider may like to note that no agreement had been made between the two parties to charge for mileage costs when transport was provided by the provider / manager or the carer.

We looked at the safeguarding policy dated September 2012 and the whistle blowing policy dated October 2012. The policies contained the contact details and telephone numbers of the local authority and the Care Quality Commission.

The provider / manager completed safeguarding adults alerter training in September 2009 and level two safeguarding adults – the role of partnership agencies in July 2011. The carer had attended the alerter training in 2009. We asked the provider / manager what they would do if there were concerns about the safety of any of the three people supported and they referred to correct reporting protocols.