You are here

Spring House Residential Care Home Outstanding

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Outstanding

Updated 18 January 2019

Spring House is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Spring House is registered to provide personal care for up to 25 people.

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection on 15 and 21 November 2018. On the first day of the inspection there were 22 people living at Spring House.

At the last inspection in February 2016, the service was rated as ‘Good’ overall, with the key question caring rated as ‘Outstanding’. At this inspection, we found the service had developed further and was now ‘Outstanding’ as two key questions, caring and responsive are now rated as ‘Outstanding’.

There was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. Some parts of this inspection report are written in a shorter format because the rating of some key questions have not changed since our last inspection.

There was a registered manager working at the home. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The registered manager has been in post since November 2017. Prior to this they worked as the deputy manager at the home. People and visitors commented on the warm and welcoming atmosphere of the home. People said, “I’m so well looked after, we are treated as people” and “I don’t have to think about it, the care is good.”

Since our last inspection, the registered manager and the staff group have continued to develop how they respond to people’s individual needs. For example, staff recognised people’s different responses to moving to a care home and tailored routines for people’s social and emotional needs. Staff went the extra mile to ensure people had a varied social life and still felt part of the local community. One person said these types of activities “Make me feel part of society, I’m not separate…I’m useful.”

People received an exceptionally personalised and responsive service. One person was very active and liked to be kept busy. The registered manager and staff established when the person became frustrated and worked out an individual routine to keep them occupied, which included going out for a walk each day. We met with the person and saw they looked contented and fulfilled, chatting and laughing with other people and helping around the home, such as laying the tables.

People living at the service and their relatives said staff had outstanding skills and had an excellent understanding of people's life history. People’s care plans were created with them, and where appropriate their friends and families. Their social history had also been recorded in their care plan. We saw staff used this information to connect with people and make them feel valued.

The service continued to provide an outstanding level of care that was person-centred. The service sustained its strong culture of supporting people as individuals and people continued to be provided with support that was kind and compassionate by a caring and dedicated team.

People and relatives were consistently positive about the caring approach of the registered manager and staff. People’s well-being was valued. For example, one person said, “I feel I am among friends, staying with friends and given everything I want.” Relatives said how much they valued “the kindness and friendliness” of the staff.

The service continued to be well-led. People visiting or living at the home said, “Oh yes they are very well led”, “I think this place [Spring House] deserves a lot of praise”, “Yes, I do think they are well led”

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

The service continues to be Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

The service continues to be Good.

Caring

Outstanding

Updated 18 January 2019

The service continues to be Outstanding.

Responsive

Outstanding

Updated 18 January 2019

The service has improved to Outstanding.

The ethos of the home was to value and respect people’s life experiences and knowledge.

Staff went the extra mile to ensure people had a varied social life and still felt part of the local community.

People were at the centre of the service and staff responded in a flexible and responsive manner. This included providing end of life care.

Care plans were written in a person-centred way and were fundamental to keeping staff updated. They promoted people’s emotional and physical care needs, as well as their choices and preferences. Care plans were tailored to meet people’s individual needs and were regularly reviewed.

People knew how to raise a concern or complaint. The registered manager dealt with complaints appropriately and in a timely manner.

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

The service continues to be Good.