You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

We are carrying out a review of quality at Little Acre Care Home. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 21 January 2017

We visited the home on 27 & 28 October 2016 and carried out an unannounced inspection visit. This meant the provider did not know we were coming. At the last inspection on the 17 September 2015, we had asked the provider to make improvements in meeting people's health and welfare needs. We found that other improvements were needed around record keeping, safeguarding procedures and about people being supported to make decisions. This led to improvements being necessary in the overall running and monitoring of the quality of service by the provider. We received an action plan from the provider detailing how these improvements would be made.

At this inspection we looked at all the areas where the home had breached the regulations described above, and other areas to ensure that we carried out a fully comprehensive inspection of the services provided. We found that there had been significant improvements across all areas and the home was no longer in breach of the regulations.

Throughout this period the provider worked closely and co-operatively with CQC and the local county council commissioning and adult social care teams.

Little Acre Care Home is registered to provide accommodation for people who require personal care. The home can accommodate up to 14 older people, some of whom may have dementia. Accommodation is provided on the ground floor of a bungalow style property. All of the rooms are for single occupancy; 13 of the rooms provide en-suite facilities with the remaining room having close access to a communal bathroom. The home had one vacancy at the time of our inspection.

There was a new registered manager employed at the service since the last inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

All of the people we spoke with during our visit to the home told us that they were “very happy” with the home and the support they received from staff. Everyone, including visitors and staff said they really liked the new registered manager. They found him “a breath of fresh air” and also said that both he and the owners were very approachable.

One person said; “I think it is excellent here, I looked at a few homes before I came here and I can’t fault it. This really is my home now.” Another said, ”The girls are very nice. I am safe and I comfortable and all my needs are catered for. What more can you wish for.” A third person said, “I’m very content. I couldn’t wish for better. I go to bed when I like and have a sleep in if I want. I can have cooked breakfast and the food is beautiful.”

Healthcare professionals told us of the staff, "They worked beyond the duty of care and always go the extra mile." Another said, "Definitely one of the best groups of staff I have ever worked with, they all really care, and the place is very person centred."

The ethos of the home was one of an extended family. Staff valued each person as an individual, people mattered and staff developed exceptionally positive, kind, and compassionate relationships with the people they supported.

Staff were very knowledgeable about people’s needs and about them as a person. This was a real feature of the home. One person said, “I love this home because its small and you get the personal touch. All the staff know me so well. I’ve known some of them and their families for years. This keeps me in touch with what’s going on. You can't buy that!” Another said, “This place really is my home. I do what I want as if I was at home.”

Training was now a positive feature of the home and staff were very upbeat about increased opportunities for learning. Staff were well supervised and supported to ensure they provided high quality care that was tailored to each person in

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 21 January 2017

The service was safe.

There were enough staff to provide the support people required. Robust systems were in place to check that new staff were suitable to work in a care home setting.

The care staff and registered manager in the service took appropriate action to protect people from the risk of abuse and to keep people safe.

Risk assessments were carried out appropriately to keep people safe.

People received their medicines safely and as their doctors had prescribed.

Effective

Good

Updated 21 January 2017

The service was effective.

Good systems were in place to ensure that people received support from staff that had the right training and skills to provide the care they needed. People therefore received support that made a positive difference to their lives.

Support was provided with food and drink appropriate to people’s needs and choices and in a way that promoted people’s health and well-being.

Staff were aware of people’s healthcare needs and where appropriate worked with other professionals to promote and improve people’s health and well-being.

Staff ensured they obtained people’s consent to care. People’s rights were protected because the Mental Capacity Act 2005 code of practice was followed when decisions were made on their behalf.

Caring

Outstanding

Updated 21 January 2017

The service was extremely caring.

The ethos of the home was one of an extended family. Staff valued each person as an individual, people mattered and staff developed exceptionally positive, kind, and compassionate relationships with the people they supported.

People and their relatives were consulted and involved in the care planning and decision making process. People’s preferences for the way in which they preferred to be supported by staff were clearly recorded. We saw staff were very caring and spoke with people in a respectful and dignified manner.

People received exemplary end of life care at the home in line with best practice guidance. They were treated with dignity, kept peaceful, and pain free and staff supported families and those that mattered to the person to spend quality time with them.

Responsive

Good

Updated 21 January 2017

The service was responsive.

Care plans contained good detail being person centred and people’s abilities and preferences were clearly recorded.

People made choices about their lives and were included in decisions about their support.

Processes were in place to manage and respond to complaints and concerns. People were aware of how to make a complaint should they need to and they expressed confidence in the process.

Well-led

Good

Updated 21 January 2017

The service was well-led.

The service had a registered manager in post.

There was an open and positive culture which reflected the opinions of people living at the home.

There were clear values underpinning the service which were focussed on providing high quality person centred care.

The registered provider set high standards and there were robust systems in place for monitoring the quality of the service.