You are here

Sunrise of Frognal Requires improvement

This care home is run by two companies: Sunrise Senior Living Limited and Sunrise UK Operations Limited. These two companies have a dual registration and are jointly responsible for the services at the home.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 31 August 2019

About the service

Sunrise of Frognal is a residential care home registered to provide personal and nursing care for up to 131 people in two adapted buildings. There were 115 people using the service at the time of our inspection.

Sunrise Senior Living Limited and Sunrise UK Operations Limited are dual registered and both providers are jointly responsible for service delivery at Sunrise of Frognal.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

At our comprehensive inspection of 22 and 23 March 2018, we found the provider had not acted to make sure medicines were managed safely and we issued a requirement notice.

At this inspection, we found the provider had not made sufficient improvements for managing medicines since the last inspection. Medicines were still not always being managed safely.

At our comprehensive inspection of 22 and 23 March 2018, we found some improvements were needed to have an effective quality assurance system and processes.

At this inspection, we found the provider had not made sufficient improvements to monitor the quality of the service being delivered.

The falls management was not effective, people were at risk of receiving unsafe care and support.

People and their relatives gave us positive feedback about their safety and told us that staff treated them well.

The registered manager and staff understood what abuse was, the types of abuse and the signs to look for.

Senior staff completed risk assessments for every person and they were up to date with clear guidance for staff to reduce risks.

There were enough staff on duty to support people safely and in a timely manner. Staffing levels were consistently maintained to meet the assessed needs of people.

The provider carried out comprehensive background checks of staff before they started work.

Staff kept the premises clean and safe.

The provider had a system to manage accidents and incidents to reduce the likelihood of them happening again.

Staff carried out pre-admission assessments of each person’s needs to see if the service was suitable and to determine the level of support they required.

Staff received appropriate support through training, supervision and appraisal to ensure they could meet people’s needs. Staff told us they felt supported and could approach their line manager, and the registered manager, at any time for support.

Staff assessed people’s nutritional needs and supported them to have a balanced diet. People told us they had enough to eat and drink.

The provider had strong links and worked with local healthcare professionals in a timely manner.

The provider met people’s needs by suitable adaptation and design of the premises.

Staff completed health action plans for everyone who used the service and monitored their healthcare appointments.

The provider worked within the principles of Mental Capacity Act (MCA). Staff asked for people’s consent, where they had the capacity to consent to their care.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported support them in the least restrictive way possible and in their best interests; the policies and systems in the service supported support this practice.

Staff showed an understanding of equality and diversity. They supported people with their spiritual needs where requested.

Staff involved people or their relatives in the assessment, planning and review of their care.

Staff respected people’s choices and preferences.

People told us staff treated them with dignity, and that their privacy was respected.

Staff recognised people’s need for stimulation and supported them to follow their interests and take part in activities. People responded positively to these activities.

Staff had developed care plans for people based upon their assessed needs.

Care plans were reviewed on a regular basis and reflective of people’s current needs.

People told us they knew how to make a complaint and would do so if necess

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 31 August 2019

The service was not always safe

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 31 August 2019

The service was effective

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 31 August 2019

The service was caring

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 31 August 2019

The service was responsive

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 31 August 2019

The service was not always well-led

Details are in our Well-Led findings below.