You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 28 January 2020

We undertook a follow up desk-based inspection of Main Street Dental on 23 December 2019. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who had remote access to a specialist dental adviser.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of Main Street Dental on 21 August 2019 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing well led care and was in breach of regulation 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Main Street Dental on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breach we found at our inspection on 23 December 2019.

Background

Main Street Dental is in Frodsham, Cheshire and provides mainly private treatment to adults and children. The practice also holds a small NHS children’s contract.

There is level access for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs. Fee paying car parking spaces are available near the practice on the main Frodsham road. Free parking can be found on local roads nearby.

The dental team includes a principal dentist and two associate dentists, five dental nurses, four dental hygienists a dedicated receptionist and a practice manager who is also a dental nurse. The practice has four treatment rooms.

The practice is owned by an individual who is the principal dentist there. They have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run.

During the inspection we spoke with practice manager. We looked at practice policies and procedures and other records about how the service is managed.

The practice is open:

Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday 8:30 am to 5:30pm

Thursday 12pm to 7:30pm

Friday 8:30am to 4:30pm

Our key findings were:

  • The system in place to ensure low responders to the Hepatitis B vaccination were appropriately risk assessed was effective.
  • Systems to ensure the medical emergency kit was checked in line with recognised guidance was embedded.
  • Dental hygienists now work with clinical support. Systems are in place to mitigate risks of lone working.
  • Legionella prevention was effectively managed.
  • The medicines management system was reviewed and reflected published guidance.
  • Systems were in place to ensure clinicians remained up-to-date with guidance.
  • The practice updated their systems to ensure the dental instrument cleaning process was maintained if the equipment in use failed.
  • Patient safety alerts are now received and acted upon effectively.
  • The audit process for dental patient care records and infection prevention and control was reviewed and updated.
  • Infection prevention and control procedures reflected published guidelines.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 1 October 2019


Effective

No action required

Updated 1 October 2019


Caring

No action required

Updated 1 October 2019


Responsive

No action required

Updated 1 October 2019


Well-led

No action required

Updated 28 January 2020