You are here

Roden Hall Nursing Home Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 6 June 2019

About the service: Roden Hall Nursing Home provides residential and nursing care and is registered to accommodate up to 45 people. On the day of the inspection the service was providing personal and nursing care to 23 people.

Focused inspection

We undertook an unannounced focused inspection of Roden Hall Nursing Home on 23 April 2019.

People’s experience of using this service:

•Since our last inspection in July 2018, the provider had not taken sufficient action to comply with the breach of regulation 17, Good governance.

•The provider’s governance remained ineffective to address the shortfalls identified at our previous inspection.

•The provider had not taken appropriate action since the last inspection to ensure the safety of equipment to reduce the potential risk it could pose to people.

•People could not be assured they would be protected from the risk of cross infection.

•The provider was unable to demonstrate that all staff were subject to the appropriate safety checks before and whilst working in the home.

•People’s prescribed medicines were not always stored in accordance to the pharmaceutical instructions on the box.

•Accidents were recorded but action was not always taken to avoid them happening again.

•People were supported by trained staff to take their prescribed medicines.

•People were cared for by sufficient numbers of staff.

•People could be confident that staff were aware of their responsibility of safeguarding them from the risk of potential abuse.

Why we inspected: This inspection was carried out because we had received concerns about the suitability of staff working in the home.

Follow up: We will continue to monitor intelligence we receive about the service until we return to

visit as per our re-inspection programme. If any concerning information is received, we may inspect sooner. More information is in Detailed Findings below.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 6 June 2019

The service was not always safe

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 13 March 2019

The service was effective.

People were supported by a skilled and knowledgeable staff team. People’s human rights were respected by those assisting them.

People received assistance from staff members who felt well supported in their role. People received enough food and fluids to maintain good health.

When needed people were referred onto community based health professionals promptly.

Caring

Good

Updated 13 March 2019

The service was caring.

People were supported by staff who were caring and compassionate. People felt valued by those supporting them.

People’s protected characteristics, such as disability and faith, were understood and supported by staff members.

People had their privacy and dignity respected by staff members. People were supported at times they felt upset.

People were encouraged to maintain relationships that mattered to them.

Responsive

Good

Updated 13 March 2019

The service was responsive.

People were involved in the development of their care and support plans which reflected their needs and preferences.

People had access to information in a format they could understand. People were engaged in activities they found enjoyable and stimulating.

People and relatives knew how to raise concerns and the management team had systems in place to respond to any concerns or compliments raised with them.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 6 June 2019

The service was not always well-led

Details are in our Well-Led findings below.