You are here

Mydentist - Willow Brook Centre - Bradley Stoke

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 5 December 2017

We carried out a focused inspection of Phoenix Dental – Bradley Stoke on 15 November 2017.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who had access to telephone support from a dental clinical adviser.

We carried out the inspection to follow up concerns we originally identified during a comprehensive inspection at this practice on 18 July 2017 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions.

At a comprehensive inspection we always ask the following five questions to get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment:

  • Is it safe?
  • Is it effective?
  • Is it caring?
  • Is it responsive to people’s needs?
  • Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions is not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the area(s) where improvement was required.

At the previous comprehensive inspection we found the registered provider was providing safe, effective, caring and responsive care in accordance with relevant regulations. We judged the practice was not providing well-led care in accordance with Regulation 16 Receiving and acting on complaints and Regulation 19 Fit and proper persons employed of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Phoenix Dental – Bradley Stoke on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

We also reviewed the some of the key questions of safe and effective as we had made recommendations for the provider relating to these key questions. We noted that improvements had been made.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to put right the shortfalls and dealt with the regulatory breaches we found at our inspection on 18 July 2017.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 5 December 2017

Effective

No action required

Updated 5 December 2017

Caring

No action required

Updated 5 December 2017

Responsive

No action required

Updated 5 December 2017

Well-led

No action required

Updated 5 December 2017

The provider had made improvements to the management of the service. This included how recruitment of new staff was managed to ensure it met with legislation and complaints were handled following company policy. The provider had also made improvements with how incidents and urgent referrals were dealt with.