You are here

Mydentist - Willow Brook Centre - Bradley Stoke

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 5 December 2017

We carried out a focused inspection of Phoenix Dental – Bradley Stoke on 15 November 2017.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who had access to telephone support from a dental clinical adviser.

We carried out the inspection to follow up concerns we originally identified during a comprehensive inspection at this practice on 18 July 2017 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions.

At a comprehensive inspection we always ask the following five questions to get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment:

  • Is it safe?
  • Is it effective?
  • Is it caring?
  • Is it responsive to people’s needs?
  • Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions is not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the area(s) where improvement was required.

At the previous comprehensive inspection we found the registered provider was providing safe, effective, caring and responsive care in accordance with relevant regulations. We judged the practice was not providing well-led care in accordance with Regulation 16 Receiving and acting on complaints and Regulation 19 Fit and proper persons employed of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Phoenix Dental – Bradley Stoke on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

We also reviewed the some of the key questions of safe and effective as we had made recommendations for the provider relating to these key questions. We noted that improvements had been made.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to put right the shortfalls and dealt with the regulatory breaches we found at our inspection on 18 July 2017.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 30 August 2017

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had systems and processes to provide safe care and treatment. They used learning from incidents and complaints to help them improve.

Staff received training in safeguarding and knew how to recognise the signs of abuse and how to report concerns.

Staff were qualified for their roles. The practice completed recruitment checks but some of these checks did not follow company procedure or legislation.

Premises and equipment appeared clean and properly maintained. The practice followed national guidance for cleaning, sterilising and storing dental instruments.

The practice had suitable arrangements for dealing with medical and other emergencies.

Effective

No action required

Updated 30 August 2017

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The dentists assessed patients’ needs and provided care and treatment in line with recognised guidance. Patients described the treatment they received as nothing is ever too much trouble, good to see the same dentist and accommodating. The dentists discussed treatment with patients so they could give informed consent and recorded this in their records.

The practice had clear arrangements when patients needed to be referred to other dental or health care professionals.

The practice supported staff to complete training relevant to their roles and had systems to help them monitor this.

Caring

No action required

Updated 30 August 2017

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We received feedback about the practice from 12 patients. Patients were positive about all aspects of the service the practice provided. They told us staff were helpful, caring and professional. They said that they were given honest explanations about dental treatment, involved in treatment decisions and said their dentist listened to them. Patients commented that they made them feel at ease, especially when they were anxious about visiting the dentist.

We saw that staff protected patients’ privacy and were aware of the importance of confidentiality. Patients said staff treated them with dignity and respect.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 30 August 2017

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice’s appointment system was efficient and met patients’ needs. Patients could get an appointment quickly if in pain.

Staff considered patients’ different needs. This included providing facilities for disabled patients and families with children. The practice had access to telephone interpreter services and had arrangements to help patients with hearing loss.

The practice took patients views seriously. They valued compliments from patients. Complaints were not always responded to following company policy timescales.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 5 December 2017

The provider had made improvements to the management of the service. This included how recruitment of new staff was managed to ensure it met with legislation and complaints were handled following company policy. The provider had also made improvements with how incidents and urgent referrals were dealt with.