You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 1 August 2018

We carried out this announced inspection on 11 July 2018 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We planned the inspection to check whether the registered provider was meeting the legal requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations. The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was supported by a specialist dental adviser.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we always ask the following five questions:

• Is it safe?

• Is it effective?

• Is it caring?

• Is it responsive to people’s needs?

• Is it well-led?

These questions form the framework for the areas we look at during the inspection.

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services caring?

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background

Church Lane Dental Practice is in Stafford and provides NHS and private treatment to adults and children. There are two services provided by two different providers at this location. This report only relates to the provision of general dental care and denture domiciliary service provided by Dr Rajdeep Koner. An additional report is available in respect of the general dental care and orthodontic service which is registered under the provider Dr Graeme Manzie.

There is a small step into the practice from the street although a portable ramp can be used if requested for access for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs. Car parking spaces, including several for blue badge holders, are available in car parks near the practice.

The dental team includes two dentists and five dental nurses (two of whom are apprentice dental nurses and all of whom also work in reception). The practice has two treatment rooms.

The practice is owned by a partnership and as a condition of registration must have a person registered with the Care Quality Commission as the registered manager. Registered managers have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run. The registered manager at Church Lane Dental Practice is Dr Rajdeep Koner.

On the day of inspection we collected 11 CQC comment cards filled in by patients.

During the inspection we spoke with two dentists, three qualified dental nurses and two apprentice dental nurses. We looked at practice policies and procedures and other records about how the service is managed.

The practice is open:

Monday to Friday from 9am to 5.30pm. Late evenings and weekends by appointment only.

Our key findings were:

  • The practice appeared clean and well maintained.
  • The provider had infection control procedures which reflected published guidance.
  • Staff knew how to deal with emergencies. Appropriate medicines and life-saving equipment were available.
  • The practice had systems to help them manage risk to patients and staff. There was a process in place for the reporting and shared learning when significant events occurred in the practice.
  • The practice staff had suitable safeguarding processes and staff knew their responsibilities for safeguarding vulnerable adults and children.
  • The provider had thorough staff recruitment procedures.
  • The clinical staff provided patients’ care and treatment in line with current guidelines.
  • Staff treated patients with dignity and respect and took care to protect their privacy and personal information.
  • The provider was providing preventive care and supporting patients to ensure better oral health.
  • The appointment system met patients’ needs. Patients could access treatment and emergency care when required.
  • The practice had effective leadership and culture of continuous improvement.
  • Staff felt involved and supported and worked well as a team.
  • The practice asked staff and patients for feedback about the services they provided.
  • The provider dealt with complaints positively and efficiently.
  • The provider had suitable information governance arrangements.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 1 August 2018

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had systems and processes to provide safe care and treatment. They used learning from incidents and complaints to help them improve.

Staff received training in safeguarding people and knew how to recognise the signs of abuse and how to report concerns. The safeguarding policy with local authority contact details was on display in reception.

The practice held NHS prescriptions which were stored securely. Some improvement was required in ensuring that they could be tracked and monitored. During our inspection, the practice updated their processes to rectify this.

Staff were qualified for their roles and the practice completed essential recruitment checks. There were sufficient numbers of suitably qualified staff working at the practice.

Premises and equipment were clean and properly maintained. The practice followed national guidance for cleaning, sterilising and storing dental instruments.

The practice had suitable arrangements for dealing with medical and other emergencies. Medical scenario training in relation to patient collapse had been completed at a recent staff meeting to ensure staff were kept up to date and had the confidence to respond if required.

Effective

No action required

Updated 1 August 2018

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The dentists assessed patients’ needs and provided care and treatment in line with recognised guidance. Patients described the treatment they received as excellent, outstanding and the best dental experience they had ever had. The dentists discussed treatment with patients so they could give informed consent and recorded this in their records.

The practice provided a domiciliary service to local care homes to support residents with fitting new dentures and replacing broken or lost dentures. This enabled residents to receive denture treatments in the comfort of their care home rather than having to visit the practice.

The practice had clear arrangements when patients needed to be referred to other dental or health care professionals.

The practice supported staff to complete training relevant to their roles and had systems to help them monitor this. At the time of our visit the practice were supporting two apprentice dental nurses to become qualified dental nurses.

Caring

No action required

Updated 1 August 2018

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We received extremely positive feedback about the practice from 11 people. Patients were positive about all aspects of the service the practice provided. They told us staff were always friendly, caring and they couldn’t ask for a better team.

Several patients told us that this was the best dental service they had ever used, they looked forward to visiting the dentist and that the care received was first class. We were told that the treatment received was gentle and pain free.

Patients repeatedly commented that they were made to feel at ease, especially when they were anxious and that they had complete trust in their dentist.

We saw that staff protected patients’ privacy and were aware of the importance of confidentiality. Patients said staff treated them with dignity and respect.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 1 August 2018

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice’s appointment system was efficient and met patients’ needs. Patients could get an appointment quickly if in pain.

The practice was aware of the needs of the local population and took those these into account in how it ran. This included providing facilities for disabled patients and families with children where possible. The practice had access to telephone interpreter services and had arrangements to help patients with sight or hearing loss.

The practice took patients views seriously. They valued compliments from patients and responded to concerns and complaints quickly and constructively.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 1 August 2018

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had arrangements to ensure the smooth running of the service. These included systems for the practice team to discuss the quality and safety of the care and treatment provided. There was a clearly defined management structure and all the staff we met said that they felt supported and the practice was a good place to work.

The practice team kept complete patient dental care records which were, clearly written or typed and stored securely.

The practice monitored clinical and non-clinical areas of their work to help them improve and learn. This included asking for and listening to the views of patients and staff. The practice proactively sought feedback from patients, which it acted on to improve its services. We saw that 100% of the patients who responded to the friends and family test survey in April 2018 were likely to recommend the practice to a friend or family member. The results from the practice satisfaction survey were also extremely positive.