You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 31 December 2018

We undertook a follow up desk-based focused inspection of 33 Beaumont Street on 11 December 2018. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of 33 Beaumont Street on 25 June 2018 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing well led care and was in breach of regulation 19 Fit and Proper Persons employed of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for 33 Beaumont Street dental practice on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions are not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the area where improvement was required.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breach we found at our inspection on 25 June 2018.

Background

33 Beaumont Street is in Oxford and provides private treatment to patients of all ages.

There is level access, via a ramp is available for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs via the side entrance of the practice.

The dental team includes six dentists, one anaesthetist an oral surgeon, five dental nurses, one dental hygienist, one dental hygienist therapist, and administrator and two receptionists. The practice has four treatment rooms.

The practice is owned by a company and as a condition of registration must have a person registered with the Care Quality Commission as the registered manager. Registered managers have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run. The registered manager at 33 Beaumont Street was the principal dentist.

The practice is open Monday to Friday 9am to 5.30pm.

Our key findings were:

  • The practice had recruitment procedures which were operated effectively to ensure only fit and proper persons were employed.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 26 July 2018

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had systems and processes to provide safe care and treatment. They used learning from incidents and complaints to help them improve.

Staff received training in safeguarding and knew how to recognise the signs of abuse and how to report concerns.

Staff were qualified for their roles.

Premises and equipment were clean and properly maintained. The practice followed national guidance for cleaning, sterilising and storing dental instruments.

The practice had suitable arrangements for dealing with medical and other emergencies.

Effective

No action required

Updated 26 July 2018

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The dentists assessed patients’ needs and provided care and treatment in line with recognised guidance. Patients described the treatment they received as very safe, well organised and fastidious. The dentists discussed treatment with patients so they could give informed consent and recorded this in their records.

The practice had clear arrangements when patients needed to be referred to other dental or health care professionals.

The practice supported staff to complete training relevant to their roles and had systems to help them monitor this.

The staff were involved in quality improvement initiatives such as British Dental Association (BDA) good practice as part of their approach in providing high quality care.

Caring

No action required

Updated 26 July 2018

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We received feedback about the practice from 25 people. Patients were positive about all aspects of the service the practice provided. They told us the staff was welcoming, relaxing and friendly.

They said that they were given the best level of care possible and treated with dignity and said their dentist listened to them. Patients commented that they made them feel at ease, especially when they were anxious about visiting the dentist.

We saw that staff protected patients’ privacy and were aware of the importance of confidentiality. Patients said staff treated them with dignity and respect.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 26 July 2018

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice’s appointment system was efficient and met patients’ needs. Patients could get an appointment quickly if in pain.

Staff considered patients’ different needs. This included providing facilities for disabled patients and families with children. The practice had access to telephone interpreter services and had arrangements to help patients with sight loss.

The practice took patients views seriously. They valued compliments from patients and responded to concerns and complaints quickly and constructively.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 31 December 2018

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Recruitment procedures were operated effectively to ensure only fit and proper persons were employed.