You are here

Medisec Ambulance Service Limited Good

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 October 2019

Medisec Ambulance Service is operated by Medisec Ambulance Service Limited. The service provides patient transport services.

The provider has been registered with CQC as Medisec Ambulance Service Limited since December 2011. The service has had a registered manager in post since December 2011.

The service provided patient transport services to hospitals from a patient’s home, patients discharged form hospital to their home, and secure transport to and from mental health hospitals to acute hospitals and court. Medisec Ambulance Service is commissioned by an NHS Mental Health Trust to undertake transport services.

We inspected this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology. We informed the service of our inspection, to ensure people we needed to speak with could be made available. We carried out this short notice inspection on 3 September 2019.

The service had 30 staff, five ambulances and a safe custody ambulance it used to carry out the regulated activity for both adults and young people aged between 12 and 18 years old.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we ask the same five questions of all services: are they safe, effective, caring, responsive to people's needs, and well-led?

Throughout the inspection, we took account of what people told us and how the provider understood and complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

We rated the service as Good overall. We had not previously rated this service.

  • The service had systems to provide assurance of safety regarding the premises, vehicles and equipment which were well maintained and clean.

  • Staff received comprehensive training in safety systems on employment and this was regularly refreshed. All staff were up to date with mandatory training and there were effective systems to monitor this.

  • Staff received support through supervision and appraisal.

  • There was a system to ensure thorough recruitment checks were undertaken.

  • Staff undertook risk assessments and took precautions to protect patients and themselves from harm.

  • Staff had been trained and understood their responsibilities to report safeguarding concerns.

  • There was a process to ensure staff understood the Mental Capacity Act (2005) and how to apply the principles in practice.

  • The service investigated incidents, including complaints, and took appropriate remedial action.

  • Managers were visible, approachable and respected by staff. Staff felt valued and well supported.

  • Feedback from patients and commissioners was very positive. We observed friendly and attentive staff.

  • People could access the service when they needed it.

  • The service took steps to support patients with complex needs and those in vulnerable circumstances.

  • Staff completed accurate records of patients’ care and treatment and kept them securely.

  • Staff respected their managers and felt supported and valued by the organisation.

  • The service measured its performance against standards agreed with commissioners.

  • There were effective arrangements to manage risk. The risk register identified operational risks and described safeguards to manage those risks, it was regularly discussed and updated.

  • There was an effective governance framework which provided a holistic understanding and assurance of safety, quality and patient experience.

Nigel Acheson

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals South

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 October 2019

Effective

Good

Updated 25 October 2019

Caring

Good

Updated 25 October 2019

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 October 2019

Well-led

Good

Updated 25 October 2019

Checks on specific services

Patient transport services

Good

Updated 25 October 2019

Patient transport services (PTS) was the main service. Medisec Ambulance Service provides secure patient transport providing a full end to end secure PTS service including court hearings, hospital appointments, and trips to accident and emergency.

We rated safe, effective, caring, responsive and well led as good because staff received mandatory training and annual competency updates. There was an effective process in place for infection prevention and control and vehicle and equipment maintenance.

Policies were up to date and reflected national guidelines and staff treated patients with kindness, dignity and respect. The senior managers had created a culture where information was used to drive improvement and gain assurance.

There were systems of governance in place that had been embedded and strengthened. The service had effective, integrated business management systems which gave senior leaders up to date information and oversight of the service.