You are here

Integrated Family Support Limited Good

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 13 January 2017

Integrated Family Support is a care agency that provides support workers to undertake personal and supportive care for children and young adults with learning and / or physical disabilities. The service is based in North London and provides support to a small number of families in Hertfordshire.

This is the first inspection of the agency since registration in April 2016 and the inspection took place on 12 December 2016.

At the time of our inspection a registered manager was in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service and has the legal responsibility for meeting the requirements of the law; as does the provider.

From the feedback the agency received from families using the service and health and social care professionals we found that there was usually a good and high degree of satisfaction with the way the service worked with children / young adults and their families.

People who used the service, children and young adults, had a variety of complex support needs and from the three care plans that we looked at we found that the information and guidance provided to staff was clear. Any risks associated with people’s care needs were assessed, and the action needed to mitigate against risks was recorded. We found that risk assessments were updated regularly and this included those risks associated with complex care needs.

During our review of care plans we found that these were tailored to children / young adult’s individual needs, this was being done in close cooperation with their families. Communication methods of providing care and support with the appropriate guidance for each person’s needs were in place and regularly reviewed.

We looked at the training records for all staff employed by the agency. We saw that in all cases, core training had been undertaken and the type of specialised training they required was tailored to the needs of the particular children / young people they were supporting. Staff supervision was taking place regularly and appraisals were undertaken annually.

Staff respected people’s privacy and dignity and worked in ways which demonstrated this. From the feedback we viewed that the agency had received we found that people’s preferences had been recorded. Staff focused on respecting these preferences for both children or young adults.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 13 January 2017

The service was safe. Any risks associated with children and young adult’s needs were assessed and updated at regular intervals.

Staff recruitment was managed safely with all of the necessary background and employment checks being completed.

Staff had access to the organisational policy and procedure for protection of children and vulnerable adults from abuse, as well as the local authority procedures that the agency worked with. Staff knew how to respond to and report concerns.

Staff did not administer medicines unless needing to do so in an emergency. Training in safe medicine administration was provided, if required, and detailed guidance was in place for staff to follow.

Effective

Good

Updated 13 January 2017

The service was effective. Staff supervision and appraisal systems were in place which helped to ensure that staff were well supported and their performance and development were assessed.

Staff training was comprehensive and covered common subjects, for example safeguarding people, as well as specialised training relating to complex conditions which people using the service may experience.

There was detailed information and guidance for staff about the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA).

Staff effectively responded to children and young adult’s care and support needs, including needs associated with complex physical health conditions and disabilities.

Caring

Good

Updated 13 January 2017

The service was caring. We did not have any feedback from people we contacted but feedback given to the service gave a view that the service employed caring dedicated staff.

The service provided care to children and young adults who in some cases experienced communication difficulties. Care plans included guidance on methods that support workers could use. This was further supported by descriptions in care plans about how best to communicate with each person.

Responsive

Good

Updated 13 January 2017

The service was responsive. The children and young adults who were using this service each had a care plan. The care plans described people’s specific needs and reflected their wishes as well as those of their families about how care and support should be provided.

The care plans covered personal, physical, social and emotional support needs. These were updated at regular intervals to ensure that information remained accurate and reflected current and changing support needs.

Well-led

Good

Updated 13 January 2017

The service was well-led. A system for obtaining feedback from staff, health and social care professionals and other stakeholders was in place as well as obtaining weekly feedback from families.

Communication between support workers and office based staff was regular and positively benefitted how the service operated. There were clear lines of accountability and the service was well managed.