You are here

Archived: Southwestern Care Services Ltd Good

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

This service is now registered at a different address - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 31 March 2017

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection of this service on 8 August 2016. At that time the service was rated good overall. We issued a recommendation relating to the quality of information contained in care plans. After that inspection we received concerns in relation to recruitment practices and processes for dealing with complaints. As a result we undertook an announced focused inspection on 3 March 2017 to look into those concerns.

On the day of our inspection the service was supporting approximately 70 people who lived in their own homes.

This report only covers our findings in relation to two of our key questions. Is the service safe and Is the service responsive. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for South Western Homecare on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

The service requires a registered manager and at the time of the inspection there was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

The service was operating safe recruitment practices. All necessary checks including Disclosure and Barring Service checks (DBS) and reference reviews had been completed.

People’s complaints had been fully investigated and appropriate action taken to address and resolve any minor issues reported to the registered manager. One person who had recently made a complaint told us it had been investigated and resolved. Each month the service contacted everyone who the service supported to gather feedback about the care provided . The feedback was consistently positive and people told us, “I have never had anything to complain about they are very good” and “We have no problems, I would never change them. I raised something once and it was dealt with.”

People told us told us they felt safe and well cared for by their care staff. One relative said, “Oh yes [My relative] is safe. I feel they are looking after her” and “I could not and wished for anyone better to look after [My relative].”

There were sufficient numbers of staff available to provide all planned care visits and the service operated a call monitoring system to help ensure all planned care visits were provided each day. People and their relatives said, “I’ve had no missed visits” and “They have never had a missed visit, we have never been forgotten.” Daily care records and call monitoring information showed that people normally received care visits on time and for the correct duration.

In order to address the recommendation made as a result of our previous inspection findings the a new care planning format had been introduced. The updated care plans provided staff with sufficient detailed information and guidance to enable them to meet people’s needs. Staff told us, “The new ones they have done recently are really good” and “There is one in everyone’s house. They are quite good they have enough information in them.”

The provider operated a day centre as they had identified that many of the people they supported had become socially isolated as a result of their care needs. In addition, the service routinely provided support to enable people to live as independently as possible within their own homes. People told us staff had made them Christmas dinner and staff described how they had moved one person’s bed downstairs to enable the person to return home from hospital. People told us, “They go that little bit further to help” and a relative said, “When [My relative] is feeling tired she can ring them up and they will try to come earlier in the day to help her to bed.” Staff said, “The clients are what we are about” while the registered manager commented, “I do feel we go well abo

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 31 March 2017

The service was safe. Necessary pre-employment check had been completed and there were sufficient staff available to provide all planned care visits.

Staff understood their role in protecting people from avoidable harm.

There were systems in place to ensure all planned visits were provided.

The risk management procedures were appropriate .There were effective infection control procedures in place.

Effective

Good

Updated 31 March 2017

Caring

Good

Updated 31 March 2017

Responsive

Good

Updated 31 March 2017

The service was responsive. People�s care plans were detailed and personalised. They contained sufficient information to enable staff to meet people�s identified care needs.

Complaints had been fully investigated and resolved to people�s satisfaction.

Well-led

Good

Updated 31 March 2017