You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 23 January 2018

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Primrose Surgery 1 June 2017. The overall rating for the practice was requires improvement. The full comprehensive report on the June 2017 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Primrose Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 20 December 2017 to confirm that the practice had undertaken their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 1 June 2017. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

Overall the practice is now rated as Good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • A considerable number of improvements had been made since the inspection in June 2017.There were now effective systems and processes to ensure good governance in accordance with the fundamental standards of care.

  • All members of staff fully understood and fulfilled their responsibilities to raise concerns and to report incidents and near misses.There was consistency in incident reporting and reviews and investigations were being completed with the involvement of all members of staff.

  • The members of staff we spoke to reported improved communication and a heightened awareness of surgery issues and patient information.

  • Improved protocols had been introduced to identify and support carers.

  • The arrangements for managing medicines in the practice were effective.

  • All members of staff were trained to the appropriate and necessary levels.

  • Leadership was stable and staff felt valued and involved.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 23 January 2018

Effective

Good

Updated 23 January 2018

Caring

Good

Updated 23 January 2018

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 January 2018

Well-led

Good

Updated 23 January 2018

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 23 January 2018

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 23 January 2018

Older people

Good

Updated 23 January 2018

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 23 January 2018

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 23 January 2018

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 23 January 2018