You are here

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 21 March 2018

Meadow Home Care is a domiciliary care agency registered to provide personal care to people living in their own home. At the time of this inspection visit they provided 108 people with personal care and employed approximately 60 care staff.

At the last comprehensive inspection in April 2017, we found improvement was required in the key areas of responsive and well led and we rated the service as Requires Improvement. At this inspection we found improvements had been made and the service is now rated as Good.

In May 2017 commissioners stopped referring people funded by the local authority to the service. This was due to concerns about the quality of care identified during a monitoring visit. The provider made the required improvements to the service and in August 2017 the local authority recommenced referrals.

Since our last inspection we have reviewed and refined our assessment framework, which was published in October 2017. For this inspection, we have inspected all key questions under the new framework, and also reviewed the previous key questions to make sure all areas were inspected to validate the ratings.

The office visit took place on 27 February 2018 and was announced. We told the provider we were coming so they could arrange to be there and arrange for staff to be available to talk with us about the service.

A requirement of the provider’s registration is that they have a registered manager. There was a registered manager in post at the time of our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection in April 2017 the provider had revised the management structure to include the role of senior care worker. Senior care staff had specific responsibility for reviewing people’s care service and their role had been developed to include observations of care staff while working in people’s homes. All the managers and the senior member of staff we spoke with were positive about the impact this had on the service. They said it had reduced the number of minor concerns they received as they were able to identify and resolve issues as they arose.

People who used the service felt safe and procedures were in place to keep people safe and manage identified risks to peoples care. Staff completed training in safeguarding adults and understood their responsibilities to protect people from abuse and harm. The provider conducted pre-employment checks prior to staff starting work, to ensure they were suitable to support people who used the service.

People who required support to take medicines received these from staff that had been trained to administer them safely. Staff used protective clothing, such as disposable gloves and aprons when providing personal care, to reduce the risk of infection being passed from one person to another.

People had an assessment completed at the start of their service to make sure staff could meet their care and support needs. There were enough trained staff to allocate all the visits people required and to meet people's needs safely. When needed, arrangements were in place to support people to have enough to eat and drink and remain in good health.

People's right to make their own decisions about their care were supported by managers and staff who understood the principles of the Mental Capacity Act. Staff respected decisions people made about their care and gained permission before they assisted people with care or support.

At the last inspection some people had experienced inconsistency in the time of their calls and with the care staff that visited them. At this inspection we found this had improved, people told us their calls were made by care staff they knew and who arrived

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 21 March 2018

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 21 March 2018

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 21 March 2018

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 21 March 2018

The service was responsive.

People’s care needs were assessed and regularly reviewed. People received a service that was based on their individual choices and preferences. Care plans provided staff with the information they needed to provide care safely and effectively. People knew how to complain if they needed to.

Well-led

Good

Updated 21 March 2018

The service was well led.

People were satisfied with the care they received and were able to share their opinion about the service provided. Care staff received the support and supervision they needed to carry out their roles and felt confident to raise any concerns with the management team. The managers understood their roles and responsibilities and there were processes to regularly review the quality of service people received.