You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 12 June 2019

About the service: Ashley Court was providing personal and nursing care to 57 people aged 65 and over at the time of the inspection. Some of the people at the home were living with dementia. The home can accommodate a maximum of 60 people.

People’s experience of using this service:

• There was no registered manager in post at the time of this inspection. The previous registered manager had left their post at the end of December 2018. Interim management arrangements had been put in place and a new manager had been recruited and was due to start on 23 April 2019.

• The recruitment of new staff was not always safe and robust.

• Improvements were required in relation to the training and competency assessments of staff in the management of medicines.

• Governance systems and oversight of the service were not sufficiently robust and had not identified the issues we found in relation to staff recruitment and medicines administration.

• People, staff and visitors had mixed views about whether there were sufficient numbers of staff on duty to support people appropriately.

• Some people may not have always had their privacy and dignity respected because their preferences for the gender of staff providing care could not always be met.

• People, visitors and staff spoke positively about the management of the home and the support they received.

• Ashley Court was furnished and decorated in a way that gave a homely feel to it. The home was clean and well maintained throughout.

• People were supported by staff who understood how to identify, and report abuse and how to whistle blow.

• Staff were experienced and well supported by the management of the home.

• People, and visitors were confident they could raise any concerns, and these would be addressed appropriately.

Rating at last inspection: At our last inspection in September 2017, the service was rated Good overall.

Why we inspected: We received information of concern and possible risk about the service, so the inspection was brought forward from the original planned date.

Enforcement: We have identified two breaches of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations relating to the, recruitment of staff and governance of the service. Please see the “Action we have told the provider to take” section at the end of this report.

We have made recommendations regarding the safe administration of medicines and a review of staffing levels.

Follow up: We have asked the registered provider to send us an action plan telling us what steps they will take to make the improvements that are needed. We will continue to monitor information and intelligence we receive about the service to ensure good quality care is provided. We will return to re-inspect the service in line with our inspection timescales for requires improvement services.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 12 June 2019

The service was not always safe

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 12 June 2019

The service was effective

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 12 June 2019

The service was caring

Details are in our Caring findings below

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 12 June 2019

The service was not always responsive

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 12 June 2019

The service was not always well-led

Details are in our Well-Led findings below.