You are here

Rockley Dene Residential Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

We have edited the inspection report for Rockley Dene Residential from 2 July 2019 in order to remove some text which should not have been included in this report. This has not affected the rating given to this service.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 2 July 2019

About the service: Rockley Dene Residential provides care and support for people with residential needs. The home is registered to accommodate a maximum of 39 people. On both days of our inspection, 26 people were living in the home. Some people who used the service were living with dementia.

Rating at last inspection: Inadequate (report published November 2018). We placed the service in special measures as breaches of the regulation were found in relation to recruitment, person-centred care, premises and equipment, safe care and treatment, good governance and staff support.

Following the last inspection, we met with the registered provider to discuss their action plan which showed what they would do and by when to improve the ratings in respect of our key questions. At this inspection we found improvements had been made in most areas. However, concerns remained regarding some aspects of governance to demonstrate clear management oversight.

People’s experience of using this service: Aspects of management oversight, including the timely reporting of notifiable incidents, the recording of weekly weights and follow up of a hospital admission had not been well managed.

Other areas of governance showed the home had improved through regular audits and completed action plans. Spot checks were taking place at unsociable hours to check standards were maintained at all times of the day.

People, their relatives and staff were actively encouraged to be part of the running of the home. The registered manager had shown initiative with the use of technology and promoted equality, diversity and human rights.

People felt safe living in this home as they were cared for by staff who had been safely recruited and trained to be able to carry out their role.

Positive caring interactions were seen throughout our inspection. However, we saw some people with long or dirty fingernails. The management team addressed this on the day of inspection.

People were given choices in their daily routines. They enjoyed the food served and could ask for alternatives. Support during mealtimes was provided discreetly and at other times we saw staff working at eye level with people.

Staff received formal support through a programme of supervision, appraisal and training. The culture within the home had improved and staff felt part of a team where communication was usually good.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

There were sufficient numbers of staff to meet people’s needs. People knew how to complain and a system for managing complaints was in place.

People received access to healthcare and the home worked in partnership with a range of professionals.

Care plans were found to be person-centred and sufficiently detailed. Monthly reviews required more detail, although annual reviews with people and relatives described any changes and action was taken where needed.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Why we inspected: To follow up on enforcement action we took at our last inspection and to review whether the action plan the registered provider submitted to us had been acted on.

Follow up: We will continue to monitor intelligence we receive about the service until we are scheduled to return. We inspect according to a schedule based on the current rating, however may inspect sooner if we receive information of concern.

This service has been in Special Measures. Services that are in Special Measures are kept under review and inspected again within six months. We expect services to make significant improvements within this timeframe. During this inspection the service demonstrated to us that improvements have been made and is no longer rated as inadequate overall or in any of the key questions. Therefore, this service is now out of special

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 2 July 2019

The service was safe

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 2 July 2019

The service was effective

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 2 July 2019

The service was caring

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 July 2019

The service was responsive

Details are in our Responsive findings below

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 2 July 2019

The service was not always well-led

Details are in our Well-Led findings below.