You are here

Rockley Dene Residential Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

We have edited the inspection report for Rockley Dene Residential from 2 July 2019 in order to remove some text which should not have been included in this report. This has not affected the rating given to this service.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 17 October 2020

About the service

Rockley Dene Residential is a residential care home providing accommodation for up to 35 people, including people living with dementia. At the time of the inspection there were 23 people living at the home.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

We received information raising concerns about how people using the service were being kept safe, staffing levels, staff training, and whether people had consented to their care. At the last inspection we found statutory notifications were not submitted in a timely manner and manager oversight of the service was not fully evident.

We wrote to the manager before our inspection visit and asked for information around their systems and process. This included how environmental risks were managed, details of staff training, staffing rotas, and audits.

We found the provider had failed to ensure appropriate checks and audits took place. Risk assessments and care plans had not been reviewed. Not all equipment checks had been completed. Staff had not received training. This meant manager oversight remained not fully evident.

We found staff were recruited safely, however it was not always evident whether staff who had been re-deployed had the appropriate skills and experience for their new role.

We have made a recommendation about employing staff to new roles within the home.

People felt safe living at the home. People were protected from the risk of acquiring infections by robust infection prevention and controls. The home was clean and odour-free. Personal protective equipment and up-to-date guidance was readily available to staff and this was followed.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible and in their best interests; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection (and update)

The last rating for this service was requires improvement (13 January 2020) and there was one breach of regulation. The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve. At this inspection enough improvement had not been sustained and the provider was still in breach of regulations. The service remains rated requires improvement. This service has been rated requires improvement for the last two consecutive inspections.

Why we inspected

We undertook this targeted inspection to check whether the Requirement Notice we previously issued in relation to Regulation 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 had been met and because of concerns we had about risk assessments, staffing levels, staff training and consent. The overall rating for the service has not changed following this targeted inspection and remains requires improvement.

CQC have introduced targeted inspections to check specific concerns. They do not look at an entire key question, only the part of the key question we are specifically concerned about. Targeted inspections do not change the rating from the previous inspection. This is because they do not assess all areas of a key question.

We looked at infection prevention and control measures under the Safe key question. We look at this in all care home inspections even if no concerns or risks have been identified. This is to provide assurance that the service can respond to coronavirus and other infection outbreaks effectively.

Enforcement

We are mindful of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on our regulatory function. This meant we took account of the exceptional circumstances arising as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic when considering what enforcement action was necessary and proportionate to keep people safe as a result of this inspection. We will continue to discharge our regulatory enforcement functions requi

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 17 October 2020

At our last inspection we rated this key question good. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.

Effective

Good

Updated 17 October 2020

At our last inspection we rated this key question good. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.

Caring

Good

Updated 17 October 2020

Responsive

Good

Updated 17 October 2020

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 17 October 2020

At our last inspection we rated this key question requires improvement. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.