You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 April 2019

About the service: Branch Court Care Home is a residential care home that was registered to provide personal care for up to 30 people aged 65 and over at the time of the inspection. Some people were living with dementia.

People’s experience of using this service:

The registered manager had made improvements since our last inspection of 31 July 2018 and 1 August 2018.

Improvements had been made in how medicines were being managed. People told us they felt safe. The service had safeguarding policies and procedures to guide staff in their roles. Staff told us and records confirmed they had completed training in safeguarding. Staff regularly assessed and reviewed risks to people’s health and well-being to keep people safe. The service followed robust recruitment systems and processes when recruiting new staff members. The service was clean and tidy and we observed good infection control practices.

Improvements had been made in relation to the implementation of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 within the service. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. Staff carried out appropriate capacity assessments and best interest meetings and decisions were recorded. Where necessary, Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards applications had been made to ensure no one was being unlawfully restricted.

People felt staff had the appropriate knowledge and skills to support them. We saw staff had access to mandatory and optional training courses, including National Vocational Qualifications. Staff were also supported through supervisions and appraisals.

People and their relatives told us staff were kind and caring. We observed interactions that were sensitive, kind and respectful. Staff had access to equality and diversity policies and procedures.

Activities were available on a daily basis for people to enjoy. This included community activities as well as activities within the service. During our inspection, we saw a flower arranging session, light exercises and a game of bingo being played.

People’s end of life wishes had been considered and recorded within care plans. Staff were able to describe how they would support someone at the end of their life and the necessary policies and procedures were in place to guide them.

We received positive feedback about the management of the service. People we spoke with knew who the registered manager was and told us they had a visible presence within the service. Staff felt well supported in their roles by the registered manager. The provider used regular meetings and surveys as a means of gaining feedback on the service.

Improvements had been made in relation to the quality assurance systems in place. We found regular audits were being undertaken to monitor and improve the service.

Rating at last inspection: Requires improvement (29 September 2018).

Why we inspected: We undertook this inspection based on the previous rating of the service.

Follow up: We will plan a follow up inspection as per our inspection programme. We will continue to monitor the service and if we receive any concerning information we may bring the inspection forward.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 April 2019

The service was safe.

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 10 April 2019

The service was effective.

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 10 April 2019

The service was caring.

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 April 2019

The service was responsive.

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 April 2019

The service was well-led.

Details are in our Well-led findings below.