You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 17 May 2018

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Berkshire Health limited on 18 October 2017. The full comprehensive report on the October 2017 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Berkshire Health Limited on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Berkshire Health Limited operates under the name of The Forbury Clinic.

We carried out this inspection under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. This inspection was planned to check whether the service was meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Health and Social Care Act 2008.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 1 May 2018 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 18 October 2017. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

CQC inspected the service on 17 October 2017 and asked the provider to make improvements regarding the lack of a system for monitoring medicine and safety alerts and a lack of risk assessments relating to the accessability of the emergency medicines and equipment. We checked these areas as part of this focus inspection and found these had been resolved.

The service has a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who is registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Our key findings were:

  • Arrangements for actioning medicine and safety alerts kept patients safe.
  • The contents and accessibility of the emergency medicines and equipment had been assessed and actions undertaken to improve this.
Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 17 May 2018

Effective

Updated 17 May 2018

Caring

Updated 17 May 2018

Responsive

Updated 17 May 2018

Well-led

Updated 17 May 2018