You are here

The Nottingham InHealth Specialist Imaging Centre Good

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 24 December 2018

The Nottingham InHealth Specialist Imaging Centre is operated by InHealth. The service provides MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imaging) diagnostic facilities for adults and children.

We inspected MRI diagnostic facilities for adults and children.

We inspected this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology. We carried out the unannounced inspection on 22 October 2018.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we ask the same five questions of all services: are they safe, effective, caring, responsive to people's needs, and well-led? Where we have a legal duty to do so we rate services’ performance against each key question as outstanding, good, requires improvement or inadequate.

Throughout the inspection, we took account of what people told us and how the provider understood and complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

The main service provided by this unit was MRI.

Services we rate

We rated this service as good.

We found good practice in relation to diagnostic imaging:

  • There were effective systems in place to keep people protected from avoidable harm.

  • There were sufficient numbers of staff with the necessary skills, experience and qualifications to meet patients’ needs.

  • There was a programme of mandatory training in key safety areas, which all staff completed, and systems for checking staff competencies.

  • Equipment was maintained and serviced appropriately and the environment was visibly clean.

  • Staff were trained and understood what to do if a safeguarding issue was identified.

  • Records were up to date and complete and kept protected from unauthorised access.

  • Incidents were reported, investigated and learning was implemented.

  • The service used evidence based processes and best practice, this followed recognised protocols. Scans were timely, effective and reported on in good time.

  • Staff were competent in their field and kept up to date with their professional practice.

  • The service worked well with internal and external colleagues and partnership working was strong.

  • Staff demonstrated a kind and caring approach to their patients, supported their emotional needs and provided reassurance.

  • Appointments were available during the evening and at short notice if required.

  • The referral to scan times and scan to reporting times were appropriate and well within expected ranges.

  • The service had few complaints but acted upon feedback from patients and staff.

  • The service had supportive, competent managers who led by example. Staff understood and were invested in the vision and values of the organisation. The culture was positive and staff demonstrated pride in the work and the service provided.

  • Risks were identified, assessed and mitigated. Performance was monitored and data used to seek improvements for both staff and patients.

  • Engagement with staff, stakeholders and partners was a strong feature of the service.

However, we also found the following issues that the service provider needs to improve:

  • Personal protective equipment was not always used as per InHealth policy and best practice.

  • InHealth uniform policy was not always followed as staff were wearing unauthorised jewellery.

Following this inspection, we told the provider that it should consider other improvements, even though a regulation had not been breached, to help the service improve. Details are at the end of the report.

Amanda Stanford

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals (Central)

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 24 December 2018

We rated safe as ‘Good’ because:

  • There was an open incident reporting culture within the unit, and an embedded process for staff to learn from incidents.

  • Staff were knowledgeable about safeguarding processes and what constitutes abuse.

  • There were sufficient numbers of staff with the necessary skills, experience and qualifications to meet patients’ needs. They were supported by a programme of mandatory training in key safety areas.

  • Equipment was serviced and visibly clean and processes were in place to ensure all items were well maintained.

  • The environment was fit for purpose.

However;

  • Personal protective equipment was not always used as per InHealth policy and best practice.

  • InHealth uniform policy was not always followed as staff were wearing unauthorised jewellery.

Effective

Not sufficient evidence to rate

Updated 24 December 2018

Not sufficient evidence to rate

  • Policies, procedures and guidelines were up to date and based on National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) guidelines, relevant regulations and legislation.

  • Staff worked collaboratively as part of a multi-professional team to meet patients’ needs.

  • There were systems to show whether staff were competent to undertake their jobs and to develop their skills or to manage under-performance.

  • There was effective multidisciplinary team working throughout the unit and with other providers.

  • Staff had regular development meetings with their unit manager, and were encouraged to develop their roles further.

  • Information provided by the unit showed 100% of staff had been appraised.

  • Staff demonstrated an effective knowledge of the consent process and we observed staff gaining consent in accordance with local policy and professional standards.

Caring

Good

Updated 24 December 2018

We rated caring as ‘Good’ because:

  • Patients were always treated with dignity, respect and compassion. This was reflected in the feedback received from patients who told us staff were very helpful.

  • Patients received information in a way which they understood and felt involved in their care. Patients were always given the opportunity to ask staff questions, and patients felt comfortable doing so.

  • Staff provided patients and those close to them with emotional support; all staff were sympathetic to anxious or distressed patients

Responsive

Good

Updated 24 December 2018

We rated responsive as ‘Good’ because:

  • The service was planned with the needs of service users and partner organisations in mind.

  • There was a proactive approach to meeting the individual needs of patients.

  • Staff were encouraged to resolve complaints and concerns locally, which was reflected in the low numbers of formal complaints made against the service.

  • Patient complaints and concerns were managed according to the hospital policy. Complainants were kept informed of the progress.

  • Complaints were investigated thoroughly. We saw learning identified and shared to improve service quality.

  • The unit ensured a quick turnaround on the reporting of procedures. Time taken for reporting was usually between two and three days.

  • Services were planned and delivered in a way that met the needs of the local population. On the day appointments could be provided for patients with the required referral paperwork, as well as a range of appointment times for those who worked during the week.

  • Patients could access services easily; appointments were flexible and waiting times short. Appointments and procedures occurred on time and patients were kept informed of next steps throughout the care pathway.

Well-led

Good

Updated 24 December 2018

We rated well-led as ‘Good’ because:

  • The unit had a clear vision and values which were realistic and reflected through team and individual staff member objectives.

  • There was a clear governance structure, which all members of staff were aware of. There was evidence of information escalated from local level governance meetings and information cascaded from top-level governance meetings.

  • Staff were extremely positive about their local leaders and felt they were supported and appreciated.

  • The unit had its own risk register and managers had clear visibility of their own risks and were knowledgeable about the mitigating actions taken.

  • Up to date policies and procedures were in place to support staff in the delivery of safe and effective care.

  • There was a culture of openness and honesty supported by a whistle blowing policy and freedom to speak up guardian.

  • Managers were open to innovative ideas. Plans were in place to increase patient numbers and ensure sustainability.

Checks on specific services

Diagnostic imaging

Good

Updated 24 December 2018

Diagnostics was the only activity the service provided.

We rated this service as good because it was safe, caring, responsive and well-led.