You are here

Hawkinge House Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 24 April 2019

About the service:

Hawkinge House is registered as a community healthcare service, domiciliary care service, extra-care housing service, supported living service and a care home. A community healthcare service provides nursing and other clinical resources to people who live in their own homes. A domiciliary care agency provides personal care to people living in their own homes. A supported living service provides care and support to people living in supported living settings so that they can live as independently as possible. Under this arrangement people's care and housing are provided under separate contractual agreements. An extra care housing service provides care and support to people living in 'extra care' housing. Extra care housing is purpose built or adapted single household accommodation in a shared site or building. The accommodation is bought or rented and is the occupant's own home. In both supported living services and extra care housing services people's care and housing is provided under separate contractual agreements.

• Hawkinge House is registered to provide accommodation, nursing and personal care for 115 people. It can accommodate younger adults, older people and people who live with dementia. It can also provide care for people who need support to maintain their mental health and/or who have physical adaptive needs.

• There were 76 people living in the service at the time of our inspection. Sixty-six people who were living in the service at the time of our inspection had rented their accommodation in Hawkinge House. All these people received their nursing and personal care from members of staff employed by Hawkinge House Limited who was the registered provider.

Ten people received both their accommodation and care as part of a single package that was also delivered by the registered provider. Each person who lived in the service had their own bedroom with a private bathroom.

Rating at last inspection: ‘Inadequate’ (report published December 2018).

Why we inspected: At the last inspection on 10 September 2018 and 11 September 2018 the overall rating of the service was, ‘Inadequate’ and was placed into ‘special measures’. There were eight breaches of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. There were serious shortfalls in the arrangements that had been made to provide people with safe care and treatment. These oversights included the arrangements made to prevent avoidable accidents.

Suitable systems and processes were not in place to supervise the operation of the service so that people consistently received the high-quality care they needed and had the right to expect. Robust arrangements had not been made to reliably safeguard people from situations in which they may be at risk of experiencing abuse.

Sufficient care staff had not always been deployed to enable people to promptly receive all the care they needed. Suitable background checks had not always been completed before new members of staff were appointed.

People had not always received care that promoted their dignity when they became anxious. People had not always received person centred care. This was because they had not always been given information in an accessible way to enable them to be fully involved in reviewing decisions made about their care. In addition to this, they had not always been fully supported to pursue their hobbies and interests.

Complaints had not been managed in a robust way that provided people with reassurance and enabled the service to learn from mistakes that had been made.

We found one breach of the Care Quality Commission Registration Regulations 2009. This was because the registered provider had failed to submit a statutory notification in line with our guidance.

• We told the registered provider to send us each month an action plan stating what improvements they had made and intended to make to address our concerns. The registered provider complied with this r

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 24 April 2019

The service was not consistently safe

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 24 April 2019

The service was not consistently effective.

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Requires improvement

Updated 24 April 2019

The service was not consistently caring.

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 24 April 2019

The service was not consistently responsive.

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 24 April 2019

The service was not consistently well led.

Details are in our Well Led findings below.