You are here

The Willows Residential Care Home Good

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 5 October 2018

The Willows is a care home registered for six people who have a learning disability. The home is situated close to Cleveleys town centre. There are two floors of the home available for people and it comprises of four single and one double room. En- suite facilities are provided and in addition, bathrooms are available on both floors. At the time of the inspection there were six people who lived at the home.

At the last inspection carried out in in March 2016 the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found evidence continued to support the rating of ‘Good’. There was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

There was a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

This inspection visit took place on 30th August 2018 and was announced.

We observed many examples of staff being sensitive, respectful and caring to people they supported. They were also attentive and kind. This was confirmed by our observations and relatives and people who lived at the home we spoke with. A relative said, “A great home with super caring staff.”

Procedures were in place to record safeguarding concerns, accidents and incidents and take necessary action as required. Staff had received safeguarding training and understood their responsibilities to report unsafe care or abusive practices.

People who lived at The Willows received their medicines as required. Care records we looked at contained a medicines care plan and risk assessment to inform staff about medication details for each individual. Training was provided for staff to ensure they had the competency to administer medicines.

The registered manager ensured there was sufficient staffing levels in place to provide support people required. People had one to one support to enable them to pursue activities of their choice. One person who lived at the home said, “I like going out with [staff member] on our own.”

Risk assessments had been developed to minimise the potential risk of harm to people during the delivery of their care and when people were out in the community. These had been kept under review and were relevant to the care provided.

Staff had been recruited safely, appropriately trained and supported. They had skills, knowledge and experience required to support people to follow their interests and provide care they needed.

The service had safe infection control procedures in place and staff had received infection control training to support them in their role.

Meal times were relaxed and organised around people’s individual daily routines. We saw people had access to the kitchen to make snacks and drinks as they wished. People were able to choose what they wanted to eat and prepare their own meals with staff support.

The layout of the premises was appropriate for the care they provided. We found facilities and equipment had been serviced and maintained as required to ensure the home was a safe place for people to live.

There was an emphasis on promoting dignity, respect and compassion for people who lived at the home. People told us staff treated them as individuals and were respectful of their privacy.

People had been supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

The registered manager used a variety of methods to assess and monitor the quality of the service. These included, staff and ‘resident’ meeting

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 5 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 5 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 5 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 5 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 5 October 2018

The service remains Good.