You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 29 August 2017

We carried out this announced inspection on 8 August 2017 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We planned the inspection to check whether the registered provider was meeting the legal requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations. The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was supported by a specialist dental adviser.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we always ask the following five questions:

• Is it safe?

• Is it effective?

• Is it caring?

• Is it responsive to people’s needs?

• Is it well-led?

These questions form the framework for the areas we look at during the inspection.

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services caring?

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Our key findings were:

  • The practice was mostly clean and well maintained. We found there was scope to improve the environmental cleaning of the carpets.
  • The practice had infection control procedures which reflected published guidance.
  • Patients provided positive feedback about the service and the staff.
  • Staff knew how to deal with emergencies. Appropriate medicines and life-saving equipment were available.
  • The practice had systems to help them manage risk.
  • The practice had suitable safeguarding processes and staff knew their responsibilities for safeguarding adults and children.
  • The practice had thorough staff recruitment procedures.
  • The clinical staff provided patients’ care and treatment in line with current guidelines.
  • Staff treated patients with dignity and respect and took care to protect their privacy and personal information.
  • The appointment system met patients’ needs. Patients reported they could get appointments when they needed them.
  • The practice had effective leadership. Staff felt involved and supported and worked well as a team. We saw that staff appraisals were a new process to the practice and were being introduced as an annual review.
  • The practice asked staff and patients for feedback about the services they provided.
  • The practice valued patient feedback and had a process to deal with complaints positively and efficiently.

There were areas where the provider could make improvements. They should:

  • Review the practice’s systems in place for environmental cleaning taking into account current national guidelines.
  • Review the current performance review systems in place and have an effective process established for the on-going assessment and supervision of all staff.
  • Review its responsibilities to the needs of people with a disability, including those with hearing difficulties and the requirements of the Equality Act 2010.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 29 August 2017

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had systems and processes to provide safe care and treatment. They used learning from incidents and complaints to help them improve.

Staff received training in safeguarding and knew how to recognise the signs of abuse and how to report concerns.

Staff were qualified for their roles and the practice completed essential recruitment checks.

Premises and equipment were clean and properly maintained. The practice followed national guidance for cleaning, sterilising and storing dental instruments. We found there was scope to ensure cleaning arrangements for the practice were robust and this included the cleaning of carpets. We saw that clinical waste was locked and secured in the practice kitchen, there was scope to ensure the risk of cross infection was assessed to mitigate and prevent contamination of the kitchen and staff area. Following the inspection we discussed these issues with the registered manager who agreed to review the storage arrangements and cleaning procedures.

The practice had suitable arrangements for dealing with medical and other emergencies.

Effective

No action required

Updated 29 August 2017

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The dentists assessed patients’ needs and provided care and treatment in line with recognised guidance. Patients described the treatment they received as professional and expert. The dentists discussed treatment with patients so they could give informed consent and recorded this in their records.

The practice had clear arrangements when patients needed to be referred to other dental or health care professionals.

The practice supported staff to complete training relevant to their roles and had systems to help them monitor this.

Caring

No action required

Updated 29 August 2017

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We received feedback about the practice from 49 people. Patients were positive about all aspects of the service the practice provided. They told us staff were friendly and they were treated with great respect. They said that they were given efficient first class treatment and clear explanations about dental treatment, and said their dentist listened to them. Patients commented that they made them feel at ease, especially when they were anxious about visiting the dentist.

We saw that staff protected patients’ privacy and were aware of the importance of confidentiality. Patients said staff treated them with dignity and respect.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 29 August 2017

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice’s appointment system was efficient and met patients’ needs. Patients could get an appointment quickly if in pain.

Staff considered patients’ different needs. This included providing facilities for disabled patients and families with children. Members of staff spoke several languages and the practice had access to telephone interpreter services. The provider had access to information to help patients with sight or hearing loss. We found the practice did not have a hearing loop.

The practice took patients views seriously. They valued compliments from patients and responded to concerns and complaints quickly and constructively. 

Well-led

No action required

Updated 29 August 2017

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had arrangements to ensure the smooth running of the service. These included systems for the practice team to discuss the quality and safety of the care and treatment provided. There was a clearly defined management structure and staff felt supported and appreciated. Staff appraisals were being introduced as an annual review.

The practice team kept complete patient dental care records which were, clearly written or typed and stored securely.

The practice monitored clinical and non-clinical areas of their work to help them improve and learn. This included asking for and listening to the views of patients and staff. We saw that of the 66 patients who responded to the practice November 2016 patient survey, 100% of patients who responded were likely or extremely likely to recommend the practice to a friend or family member.