You are here

Stanstead Road Dental Practice Limited

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 14 February 2020

We undertook a follow up focused inspection of Stanstead Road Dental Practice on 9 December 2019. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was accompanied by a specialist dental adviser.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of Stanstead Road Dental Practice on 9 May 2019 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing safe or well led care and was in breach of Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. These included Regulation 12 -Safe care and treatment and Regulation 17 - Good governance. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Stanstead Road Dental Practice on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it safe?

• Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions are not met we require the service to make improvements.

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breaches we found at our inspection on 9 May 2019.

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breaches we found at our inspection on 9 May 2019.

Background

Stanstead Rd Dental Practice Limited is in the London borough of Lewisham and provides NHS and private dental treatment to adults and children. There is level access for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs. Car parking spaces are available near the practice for limited periods during the day.

The dental team includes three dentists, two dental nurses, one trainee dental nurse, two receptionists, one practice manager.

The practice is owned by a company and as a condition of registration must have a person registered with the Care Quality Commission as the registered manager. Registered managers have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run. The registered manager at Stanstead Rd Dental Practice Limited is one of the company directors. A registered manager is legally responsible for the delivery of services for which the practice is registered

Our key findings were:

  • Staff knew how to deal with emergencies. Appropriate medicines and life-saving equipment were available.
  • The provider had systems to help them manage risk to patients and staff.
  • The clinical staff provided patients’ care and treatment in line with current guidelines.
  • The appointment system took account of patients’ needs and emergency provision.
  • The provider had effective leadership and a culture of continuous improvement.
  • Staff felt involved and supported and worked as a team.
  • The provider asked staff and patients for feedback about the services they provided.
  • The provider had information governance arrangements.
  • The practice had arrangements for receiving and responding to patient safety alerts, recalls and rapid response reports issued by the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency, the Central Alerting System and other relevant bodies, such as Public Health England.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 14 February 2020

Effective

No action required

Updated 14 June 2019

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The dentist assessed patients’ needs and provided care and treatment in line with recognised guidance. The dentist discussed treatment with patients so they could give informed consent and recorded this in their records.

Patients described the treatment they received as wonderful and professional.

The practice had clear arrangements when patients needed to be referred to other dental or health care professionals.

We saw evidence that staff completed training relevant to their roles.

Caring

No action required

Updated 14 June 2019

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We received feedback about the practice from three people. Patients were positive about all aspects of the service the practice provided. They told us staff were friendly and pleasant.

During the inspection, we saw that staff protected patients’ privacy; however, they were not always aware of the importance of confidentiality.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 14 June 2019

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice’s appointment system did not always take into account patients’ needs and some patients were not always seen within an appropriate timescale.

Staff considered patients’ different needs. This included providing facilities for patients with a disability and families with children. The practice had access to interpreting and translation services.

The practice took patients views seriously. They valued compliments from patients and had system in place to respond to concerns appropriately.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 14 February 2020